LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: American Government

American Government Textbooks

FAU Textbook (2013)
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 License This license is the most restrictive of six main Creative Commons licenses, allowing redistribution. This license is often called the "free advertising?" license because it allows others to download your works and share them with others as long as they mention you and link back to you, but they can't change them in any way.
American Government and Politics in the Information Age (2016)
This book is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike, which means that we can take portions of the book and use them as long as we provide proper credit (and license it so others can do the same)
OpenStax American Government
This book is licensed under a CC BY license, which means we can use the materials and remix them as long as we provide proper credit.
American Government by The Independence Hall Association
This book is licensed under a CC BY license, which means we can use the materials and remix them as long as we provide proper credit.
Democracy in Brief
This title is a governmental resource, it is in the public domain, and we can use and remix it as long as we provide credit.
Civic Life
This book is licensed under a Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike, which means that we can take portions of the book and use them as long as we provide proper credit (and license it so others can do the same)

Congress Policies

Congress Browse Policies by Subject

Library of Congress

LIbrary of Congress: Constitution Resources

Speaker of the House

House.gov: Speaker Resources

Bill of Rights

Civil Rights vs. Civil Liberties

Civics Literacy Requirement

Landmark Court Cases (list)

U.S. Courts: Landmark Cases (Includes more extensive information on notable cases like Brown V. Board)

Federalism

Direct Democracy

Government Support of Marriage?

Should the Government promote marriage

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
In 2005, CQ Press began digitizing CQ Researcher's archive of more than 3,000 Editorial Research Reports published between 1923 and 1990 in order to offer the entire Researcher collection online. Like CQ Researcher today, each report in the Archive addresses the significance and legacy of the events and issues of its day. And so, Archive content adds a new historical dimension to the CQ Researcher site, extending its coverage beyond politics and current events to the fields of history, sociology, cultural studies, and other social sciences
Opposing Viewpoints Gale This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.