Instructional Videos: Home

Skills Covered:

• How to search for books, articles, DVDs, and journals at any IRSC campus
• How to log in to save River Searches and see what is loaned to you
• How to get a citation from River Search

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/_buRzlr3zRQ

Skills Covered:

• Understand how to search using keywords.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/1NFdGizU1HE

Skills Covered:

• Narrowing a research topic through concept mapping.
• Developing a research question.
• Understanding how your research question relates to developing your thesis statement.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/IzQVmybZ9Po

Skills Covered:

• Citing sources and formatting a paper using APA style.
• Reviewing available library resources.

Additional APA Resources:

• APA LibGuide

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/x2c1_Qiro-I

Skills Covered:

• Understanding the peer review process.
• Using filters to locate peer-reviewed articles in databases.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/_mamGb0cAh4

Skills Covered:

• Evaluating news sources to determine whether the information is factual, current, accurate, and without bias.

Additional News Literacy Resources:

• News Literacy LibGuide
• A News Literacy Module for Blackboard and an "Is Your News Fake?" deliberative dialogue hosted by Librarians is also available by request. 

Email Kendra Auberry at kauberry@irsc.edu for more information.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/7MZFj3X8yYY

Skills Covered:

• Using the RADAR method to critically evaluate the credibility of online resources.

Additional RADAR Resources:

• Radar Tutorial and Quiz

Link for Blackboard: 

https://youtu.be/ArfXEc_jAgg

Skills Covered:

• Searching the web for academic sources using Google Scholar.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/6UEWOOEx5AI

Skills Covered:

• Logging in to the IRSC Library databases.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/u_EnbLMr_Ls

Skills Covered:​

• Identifying appropriate databases for subject area research.
• Understanding what type of information sources are available through databases. 
• Using keywords and filtering search results. 

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/DiqoSZ7ZnRA

Skills Covered:

• Identifying appropriate databases for subject area research.
• Understanding what type of information sources are available through databases. 
• Using keywords and filtering search results. 

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/sM89GdfA1cg

Skills Covered:

• Citing sources and formatting a paper using Chicago style.
• Reviewing available library resources.

Additional Chicago Resources:

• Chicago Libguide

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/3qezs6d9oCc

Skills Covered:

• Identifying appropriate databases for subject area research.
• Understanding what type of information sources are available through databases. 
• Using keywords and filtering search results 

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/NgH8JVTcGQY

Skills Covered:​

• Identifying appropriate databases for subject area research.
• Understanding what type of information sources are available through databases. 
• Using keywords and filtering search results. 

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/XQwYSBNiSPo

Skills Covered:

• Identifying appropriate databases for subject area research.
• Understanding what type of information sources are available through databases. 
• Using keywords and filtering search results. 

Link for Blackboard: 

https://youtu.be/0K-dZfTu1rw

Skills Covered:

• Understand how to use the customized American Nursing Journal Search to find articles.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/sQnk-VC13B4

Skills Covered:

• Understand what database to use for nursing articles and where to get assistance with APA style.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/4gQ-9fC_eTs

Skills Covered:

• Understanding the purpose and importance of reference citations.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/Es9OX8JmywA

Skills Covered:

• Identifying what constitutes plagiarism and how to avoid it.
• Understanding the ethical concerns associated with plagiarism.

Additional Plagiarism Resources:

• Plagiarism Tutorial & Quiz

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/EVDjuYca3Hk

Skills Covered:

• Best practices for effectively incorporating outside sources into your writing.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/oSXWV7gD8MM

Skills Covered:

• Citing sources and formatting a paper using MLA style.
• Reviewing available library resources.

Additional MLA Resources:

• MLA LibGuide

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/3Fv1Nr3pouY

Skills Covered:

• Understand what type of information sources are available through databases.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/WW0Yv7243yY

Skills Covered:

• Understand how to learn more about a specific journal including publication location, subject, and whether or not the journal is peer-reviewed.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/4WuK1Q3zeyY

Skills Covered:

• Understand how to copy and paste a citation from a database and verify that the citation is accurate.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/OtgASc-qYcY

Skills Covered:

• How to search for articles in the approved list of sociology journals
• How to save the article
• How to differentiate between an article and a review

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/BVVX56d7MHU 

Skills Covered:

• How to differentiate between primary and secondary sources.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/nu2KlqA_5sE?si=p-hOtnXDZaYIpVhG