Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About IRSC Libraries

College Mission, Guidelines, and Conduct

College Mission Statement

The Libraries support the College’s Mission and Goals.

IRSC College Libraries Purpose

The purpose of the Libraries is to support the College's mission by providing dedicated service, effective instruction, and quality resources to the college community.

To achieve these goals, we strive to accomplish these objectives:

  1. To provide informational, instructional, reference, research, and educational services to the college community in support of learning, teaching, and lifelong information literacy.
  2. To provide a comprehensive collection of print, non-print, and online resources.
  3. To employ qualified librarians and staff who support and facilitate a learning community.
  4. To provide the physical facilities and equipment needed to support both a traditional and an online learning environment.
  5. To engage in cooperative interactions with community groups, county agencies, libraries, and educational institutions.
  6. To assess services and resources on a recurring basis and to utilize those results for planning needs.
  7. To participate in the institutional planning and the educational development of the College.

Learning Outcomes Access, Analyze, and Use Information

  1. Formulate an information question or need, and develop a search strategy to meet that question or need.
  2. Access information by a variety of means including but not limited to, computer networks, www, databases, paper and electronic catalogs and indices, books, journals, people, and organizations.
  3. Analyze the information accessed using appropriate means.
  4. Use gathered information for oral, written, and/or electronic presentations appropriate to the audience and purpose, and include appropriate academic documentation of sources. 

Library Materials and Services

Select materials, information, and services available at the IRSC Libraries include:

  • Acquisitions
  • APA documentation Ask a Librarian
  • Books, Circulating and Reference College Archives
  • College Credit Instruction Computers
  • Copyright
  • CSE Documentation Document Delivery eBooks
  • Government Documents, U. S. Information Literacy Program Interlibrary Loan
  • Internet
  • Internet Research and Training Library Use Instruction Magazines and Newspapers Media
  • MLA documentation Online Catalog
  • Online Full Text Databases Photocopiers
  • Plagiarism Guidance Reference Assistance and more

Library Rights

The College Libraries support the Library Bill of Rights and the Code of Ethics of the American Library Association.

Borrowing Requirements

ID Requirements

Students: Current college student ID or a current semester paid receipt. If neither is available, you will need your legal photo ID and verified information in your student record.

Employees: If you are not able to present a current college ID or are not in the library circulation system, you will be asked to provide proof of employment to the college before borrowing any library materials.

Community Members: A photo ID is needed for a community library card. 


Borrowing College Library Materials (Miley and Pruitt Campus Libraries)

  • Periodicals & Reserve Items: In-house use only. 
  • Interlibrary Loan: Loan period and renewals at lending library’s discretion. Community members should visit their public library for interlibrary loan requests. 
  • Media: 
    • Currently Enrolled Students: 6 items at once with a 7-day loan period. Items with no holds can be renewed up to two times.
    • Employees: No limit on number of items with a semester loan period. Items with no holds can be renewed as needed. 
    • Community Members: 6 items at once with a 7-day loan period. Items with no holds can be renewed up to two times.
  • Books: 
    • Currently Enrolled Students: 6 items at once with a 21-day loan period. Items with no holds can be renewed up to two times.
    • Employees: No limit on number of items with a semester loan period. Items with no holds can be renewed as needed. 
    • Community Members: 6 items at once with a 21-day loan period. Items with no holds can be renewed up to two times.

Borrowing Privileges for Saint Lucie County Collections (Pruitt Campus Library)

All current students and employees can apply for a St. Lucie County Library Card at any county branch with their IRSC ID card. 

All Patrons:

  • Circulating Books & Audiobooks: 50 (3 renewals/2 week loan)
  • DVDs: 6 (3 renewals/7 day loan)
  • Newspapers & Magazines: In-house use only
  • Interlibrary Loan: 5 active requests at a time (2 week loan/zero renewals)

More information about obtaining a Saint Lucie County Library card can be found here.


Borrowing Privileges for Brackett Library (Mueller Campus) for IRSC Students and Employees

All current students and employees at IRSC are eligible for a library card for the Indian River County Library System with their IRSC ID. Indian River County Library System charges late fines. Fines are $0.25 per day late for books and magazines and $0.50 per day late for DVDs and CDs. Fines will not exceed the cost of the item. Renew materials online at http://www.irclibrary.org or call (772) 226-3080 to avoid late fines.

All Patrons:

  • Books & Magazines: 50 Books, 5 Magazines (2 Renewals/3 week loan)
  • Audiobooks: 5 per card (2 renewals/3 week loan)
  • DVDs & CDs: 5 per format per card (2 renewals/1 week loan)
  • Newspapers & Current Magazines: In-house use only

Borrowing Privileges for Morgade Library (Chastain Campus) for IRSC Students and Employees

All current students and employees at IRSC are eligible for a library card for the Indian River County Library System with their IRSC ID. See Morgade Library Borrowing Guidelines. 

All Patrons:

  • Books, Audiobooks, & CDs: 30 items (5 renewals/2 weeks)
  • DVDs: 30 items (5 renewals/1 week)
  • Newspapers & Current Magazines: In-house use only

Borrowing Privileges: 

  • Cards and borrowing privileges cannot be transferred to another person. Any materials checked out for another person are the responsibility of the account holder. 
  • Student library privileges expire at the end of each term. These will automatically renew if students continue taking classes. Any alumni or non-student may seek community borrower status. Former employees of the College may also seek community status; employee borrowing privileges end upon end of employment at the College. 
  • Materials may be returned at any college library 
  • Any questions about your circulation record or circulation policies should be directed to the library administrator. 
  • Materials may be recalled by the library at any time. 
  • The College is not obligated to send return notices. 

If Materials are Lost: 

  • If your library card is lost or stolen, please inform the library. 
  • The patron assumes all responsibility or lost items. If the patron opts to pay for the item, the cost will be the in-print price. 
  • Patrons must return any items, or replace a lost item with the most current edition available, or pay the cost of the item to the library. If the item is no longer in print, the library maintains records of average prices of materials, and the patron will be expected pay this for any lost materials. 
  • Any IRSC materials that are lost or not returned will incur a hold placed against the account, blocking future materials checkout and holds placed against student records (if a student at the college). Other penalties that may occur for failure to return lost materials include holds on student grades, transcripts, diplomas, or certificates. 
    • Joint use items that are lost fall under policy of the joint use partner's lending policies.

If Materials are Late: 

  • Main Library and Pruitt Campus Library do not assess fines for late items. Morgade and Brackett Libraries are managed by country partners, so fines are in place in these facilities. Reserve items have fines for $1.00 an hour, per hour, up to $20 or the cost to replace the item. Library privileges will be suspended for late or overdue items. 

Online Account Access

Any borrower may check their account status at any IRSC library front desk. Students and employees may also check their account status through the online catalog. From here you may perform the following tasks: 

  • Renew library materials online
  • View library materials checked out
  • View current hold requests
  • View interlibrary loan (ILL) requests

Reciprocal Borrowing

All current IRSC students, faculty, and staff patrons may borrow materials directly from all public colleges and universities in Florida. Individuals who choose to use this program should bring a current College ID with them, as well as documentation indicating their current status with the College. Borrowing privileges are as follows: 

College Employee or Student

  • Books: 6 (21 day loan/2 renewals)
  • Media: In-house use only
  • Periodicals: In-house use only
  • Reserve: In-house use only
  • Interlibrary Loan: Service of home library

Document Delivery

The college is a member of the Florida statewide document delivery service. We also use USPS and facsimile to deliver resources to students and employees. 

Interlibrary Loan

The college offers Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to current students and employees of the college. This service enables borrowers to receive materials from other libraries that the IRSC libraries presently do not own, or that may be missing or borrowed from the library collections. The library will always attempt to fill loan requests, but may not be able to fulfill them due to lending procedures from other libraries. If there is any charge associated with borrowing materials, the library will consult you prior to filling the request, as fees incurred from borrowing materials are the responsibility of the borrowing patron. 

Timeline for Delivery

  • Typically loan requests may take 3-5 business days, unless it is a difficult request. 
  • You will receive an email when the item has been delivered and is available for pickup.

Penalties for Lost Items

  • Lost items fall into the lending procedures of the lending library. You are responsible for paying any late or lost item fees from the lending library. Patrons are also subject to the same loss of privileges as College borrower. 

To request an ILL item, use the form located here

Databases and Electronic Resources

The library maintains subscriptions to online resources, including full-text articles, ebooks, facts and statistical information, directory information, and other sources. These are multi-disciplinary in nature and can be accessed from the libraries' homepage. Users will be prompted to log in to get access to these items.

To log in, use your MyPioneerPortal credentials.

Computer and Internet Use

Students may log on to Massey Campus library computers using their IRSC student ID numbers. Priority for computer use will be given to users pursuing academic and research needs over individuals using the computer for chatting or casual internet browsing. Gaming is not permitted on library computers. There may be only one user per computer, due to limited work space around the computers. Users are expected to keep their items within their computer's workspace. Group work should be done in computer labs. During high-use times, IRSC library employees may monitor usage to make sure that the space meets the academic needs of IRSC students. 

Community patrons or individuals from other colleges may use the community computers. For more information on community computer use, patrons should speak with a library employee. 

Copyright

Indian River State College faculty, staff, and students are expected to observe the copyright law and guidelines. Federal penalties for violation are strict and pertain to the individual involved as well as the institution. Visit the Libraries’ Copyright Web page or LibGuides webpage for additional information on copyright and fair use.

Copyright is a form of protection provided by the laws of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) to the authors of "original works of authorship" including literary, dramatic, musical, artistic, and certain other intellectual works, whereby authors obtain, for a limited time, certain exclusive rights to their works.

The Copyright Law of the United States governs the making of photocopies of other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Any user that violates “fair use” may be liable for copyright infringement.

Requests to copy or reproduce copyright protected documents or media that go beyond fair use will be denied. These requests include individual, reserve, or group requests. Software and databases cannot be reproduced unless one copy is permitted for archival purposes in case the original is destroyed. The appropriate licenses and agreements will dictate the permission of an archival copy.

Media items that do not have public performance rights cannot be shown outside of the classroom to public groups.

See also Board Policy 6Hx11-3.25 (Intellectual Property) specifying all rights and obligations of the College and any student or employee in regard to the creation and security of intellectual property.

The Copyright Law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. The Indian River State College Libraries reserve the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of Copyright Law. 

The Library administrator will provide information on securing permission to duplicate copyright protected material. 

Plagiarism

IRSC faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to uphold ethical research and  writing practices,  as well as to observe copyright law and guidelines. Tutorials explaining the concepts of plagiarism and copyright are located on the Libraries' webpage. These tutorials will also assist you in properly documenting your research products. The library also has a plagiarism assessment tool on its webpage.

For more information: http://irsc.libguides.com/plagiarism

 

Reference and Research Services

Students may request appointments with library faculty to obtain reference and research assistance. Assistance is provided in person, by telephone, or online. To sign up for a meeting with a librarian, contact a librarian here

 
 

Animal Policy

Service animals are the only animals permitted in IRSC libraries. 

Cell Phone Use

Patrons should take all calls received outside the library. When in the library phones should be on silent or vibrate, so as to not disturb the library use of those around you. Please respect the study and research of fellow patrons by taking any phone calls outside the library. 

Copiers and Computer Printing

Copiers and printers are available at all College libraries. Change machines are available at the library, though it is recommended you bring change with you. Both printing and copying are .10 cents per page. All patrons are required to provide adequate funding for any printing or copying jobs. For permissible use of copying and printing copyrighted material, see the copyright policy

Conduct

The College libraries endeavor to maintain an academic environment that is respectful of the individual learning styles of each student, who have a right to expect each of our facilities to be clean, pleasant, and safe places for selecting materials, browsing, reading, researching, writing, using Wi-Fi, thinking, and attending Library programs.

If library patrons fail to adhere to the standards of conduct expected by the library, they will lose their library privileges. 

The College libraries welcome all students, employees, and community members. The library strives to maintain a collegiate and safe environment for all library patrons. The libraries adhere to IRSC's Student Code of Conduct. 

The library staff are not responsible for the care and safety of patrons who are unable to care for themselves. 

Any user, regardless of age or affiliation, who is misbehaving in a disruptive or disrespectful manner will receive a verbal warning from a library employee. If the individual's behavior fails to improve following the first warning, the library user will be asked to leave the library. If the user is an unaccompanied minor, IRSC security may be asked to locate the parent or guardian. 

Suspension of Library Privileges

If any patron violates any of the College's policies or codes of conduct, library privileges will be suspended. 

Examples of unacceptable Library behavior include, but are not limited to: 

  • Inappropriate use of the restrooms.
  • Soliciting, and/or other forms of commercial activity.
  • Behaving in a manner that reasonably can be expected to disturb other patrons or staff.
  • Entering staff areas of the facility without being accompanied by a Library employee.
  • Harassing, intimidating, stalking, or prolonged staring at patrons or staff.
  • Leaving individuals, minors, or adults requiring care or supervision unattended for long periods of time or at closing.
  • Misusing the computers. 

Community Information

Community patrons must be 18 years or older to use library computers. For patrons under the age of 18, they must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian who authorizes the use of unfiltered computers. Any access is mediated by a library employee. 

Community patrons must show a legal photo ID to obtain a library card. These cards may be used to log onto public computers. Computer use for community patrons is one hour. This time may be extended if there are no other patrons waiting to use a computer. Guest passes are available for visitors for one-time use at all library branches except the Dixon Hendry Library Collection. 

If you are not an IRSC student and you are under the age of 18, a library staff member will mediate your research needs. 

Food and Drink

Food and drink are allowed in the libraries. However, all library patrons are expected to throw away all trash and keep their areas neat and tidy, and library staff may ask you to take your food outside the building if there is a significant mess or odors. For patrons who use our computers, drinks should be covered and food should be limited to snacks. 

Furniture

The library provides group study tables, individual carrels, and comfortable seating for student use. The tables and comfortable chairs may not be moved. 

Harassment/Discrimination

From the College Student Handbook: "Harassment or discrimination of any nature is prohibited whether it is on the basis of race, gender, color, national and ethnic origin, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, veteran or marital status." 

Headphones

The use of headphones is required in public spaces. If you do not have headphones, you may check them out at the library desk at the Miley Library on the Massey Campus, and the Pruitt Campus Library. Study rooms are available with computers in the Brackett Library on the Mueller Campus and the Morgade Library on the Chastain Campus. Headphones are for in-library use only. 

Personal Belongings

Personal belongings should not be left unattended. Any items left unattended are not the responsibility of the library staff. Any items left or lost will be taken to the lost and found on each campus or library location. Please ask at the front desk if you need assistance locating the lost and found. 

Study Rooms and Room Reservations

Campus

Study Rooms

Number of People Room

Massey Campus (Miley Library)

5 small study rooms

1 large study room

4 students max

6 students max

Pruitt Campus

1 large study room

3 small study room

8-10 students

4 students max

Brackett Library

4 small study rooms

2 large study rooms

1-3 students max

4-6 students max

 

At Main, rooms are for student use only. At Pruitt and Brackett, community patrons and students may both use the rooms. Study rooms can be booked at the Miley and Pruitt Campus libraries 24 hours in advance by using the library's booking page. If there are no confirmed appointments the day of, study rooms are first come, first serve at these locations. 

Study rooms at Brackett can be reserved for a two-hour period one business day ahead of time. This may be done in person, or by calling the Reference Desk at 772-400-6385.

Individuals may use the rooms but may be asked to vacate if a large group requires the room for studying or projects. Carrels at the Main and Pruitt campus libraries may be used if there is a need for a quiet study space. 

No business can be conducted in the study rooms. If you generate fees for any services (e.g. private tutoring or a web-based business) you fall into this category. 

Talking

Talking is permitted in study rooms. Quiet talking is permitted in open areas of the library. No talking is allowed at any study carrel area in the library. 

Theft or Vandalism of Library Materials

Theft of library materials violates District Board of Trustees' policies, as well as Florida Statues 235.09. Appropriate action will be taken by College officials. 

Library of Congress

Books are arranged on the Miley, Pruitt Campus, and Dixon Hendry library shelves according to the Library of Congress Classification system. The following is an outline of this system:

A-General Works

B-Philosophy, Religion

C-History (General-Civilization, Genealogy)

D-History, Old World

E-American History (General)

F-American History (Local)

G-Geography, Anthropology, Folklore, Sports

GV-Physical Education

H-Social Sciences HA-Statistics

HB-HD-Economics

HF-Commerce, Accounting, Retail Trade, Marketing

HM-Sociology

HQ-Family, Marriage

J-Political Science

K-Law

L-Education M-Music

N-Fine Arts P-Language

PC-Romance Language

PD-Germanic Language

PE-English Literature

PN-Journalism, Literary History

PQ-Romance Literature

PS-American Literature

PT-Teutonic Literature

PZ-Fiction, Juvenile Fiction

Q-Science

QA-Mathematics, Computers

QB-Astronomy

QC-Physics

QD-Chemistry QE-Geology

QH-Biology

QK-Botany

QL-Zoology

QM-Human Anatomy

QP-Physiology

QR-Bacteriology

R-Medicine

RA-Hospital Staff

RD-Dentistry, Dental Hygiene, Dental Assisting RS-Pharmacy

RT-Nurses and Nursing

S-Agriculture, Forestry, Animal and Fish Culture, Hunting

T-Technology

TA-Engineering

TK-Electronics, Appliance Repair, Radio and Television Service

TP-Chemical Engineering

TS-Welding

TT-Cosmetology

TX-Home Economics U-Military Service

V-Naval Science

Z-Bibliography, Library Science, Printing

Dewey Decimal Classification

Books are arranged at the Brackett Library and the Morgade Library according to the Dewey Decimal Classification system. The following is an outline of this system:

000 Generalities

100 Philosophy & psychology

200 Religion

300 Social sciences

400 Language

500 Natural sciences & mathematics

600 Technology (Applied sciences)

700 The arts

800 Literature & rhetoric

900 Geography & history