LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Education

Assessment

Educational Psychology Text from OpenSUNY
Chapters 11 & 12 are about assessment.

Click the link and then login to see the results of each subject search listed below. When searching for a library eBook to use for all your students, look for the Concurrent User Level field in the eBook description. Unlimited User Access eBooks can be used by everyone at the same time.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Transforming Formative Assessment in Post-Compulsory Education: Through a series of case studies, the book highlights how factors in one learning context can conspire to make feedback and other forms of formative assessment highly instrumental, whilst in others this can be a springboard to deep and meaningful learning.
Classroom Assessment in Action: Includes Orientation to Assessment, Planning Assessments, Observation: Bases of Assessment, Formative Assessment: Using Assessment for Improving Instruction, Performance Assessment, Developing Objective Tests, Developing Subjective Tests, Selecting Standardized Tests, Technology in Assessment, Improving Tests, Domain-Specific Assessment and Learning, Grading, Supplementary Assessments of Individual Differences, High-Stakes Testing: Policy and Accountability, Assessment and Best Practices, Test Bias, Fairness, and Testing Accommodations.
Advancing Formative Assessment in Every Classroom : A Guide for Instructional Leaders
What Teachers Really Need to Know About Formative Assessment: Explains how to make formative assessments a seamless and natural part of the teaching process and provides assessment strategies that can be used before, during, and after instruction to learning.
Designing Elementary Instruction and Assessment : Using the Cognitive Domain: This user-friendly resource gives teachers clear, step-by-step guidelines for writing measurable objectives and developing appropriate formative and summative assessments to guide instruction in the elementary classroom.
Introduction to Rubrics : An Assessment Tool to Save Grading Time, Convey Effective Feedback, and Promote Student Learning: 1 WHAT IS A RUBRIC?, 2 WHY USE RUBRICS?, 3 HOW TO CONSTRUCT A RUBRIC, 4 RUBRIC CONSTRUCTION AND THE CLASSROOM, 5 RUBRIC CONSTRUCTION WITH OTHERS: TEACHING ASSISTANTS, TUTORS, OR COLLEAGUES, 6 GRADING WITH RUBRICS, and 7 VARIATIONS ON THE THEME

Florida Standards Assessments
This portal is your source for information about the Florida Standards Assessments.
CPALMS
CPALMS is an online toolbox of information, vetted resources, and interactive tools that helps educators effectively implement teaching standards. It is the State of Florida’s official source for standards information and course descriptions.
Saint Lucie County Schools Accreditation Report
FLDOE Accountability Office
Access the following; school grades, assessments, data systems, reports, resources, publications, guides, and interactive reporting.
Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium
This site provides examples of test questions used on Smarter Balanced assessments in English language arts/literacy and math. Teachers, parents, students, administrators, and policymakers can experience these test items just as students encounter them.

CPALMS Professional Development Tutorials

Child Development

Developmental Psychology
Text covering the progressive psychological changes that occur in learners up to adolescence.

Learning Space - The Open University
This site provides free courses on the topic of childhood and youth.
Tufts Open Courseware
This site provides open access courses on the topic of child & youth development, including topics such as Human Growth and Development, Intellectual Development, Child Development and the PITS, Promoting Positive Development among Youth, and more.

Child Development Journal
A multidisciplinary, not-for-profit, professional association with an international membership of approximately 5,500 researchers, practitioners, and human development professionals. This site provides free access to some of the articles published in this journal.
Child Development Research
“Child Development Research is a peer-reviewed open-access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of child development research.”
Early Childhood Research & Practice (ECRP) Journal
Open-access, peer-reviewed, bilingual Internet journal in early care and education.
CALiO E-Publications
From The Child Abuse Library Online (CALiO) of the National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC), “full-text of publications that do not require fee or password. Many of the publications included in this collection were published by state and federal government agencies, and are in the public domain. Others were funded by foundations or other organizations for open access.”
PBS Media Learning
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, interactives, audios and documents
American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
This is a site dedicated to "Assisting parents and families in understanding developmental, behaviorial, emotional and mental disorders affecting children and adolescents."
Child Development Institute
A site "designed to provide the information and tools parents need to understand their unique child/children and to enable them to help each child develop into the successful human being they were meant to be." Has useful sections about Ages/Stages, Development, Health/Safety, Psychology, and more.
Developmental Psychology Links by Subtopic
From the Social Psychology Network, links related to infancy, adoption, childhood development, child protection, parenting, adolescence, and more. Organized by topic.
Behavior Breakthroughs App for iOS
Free app. "Training application using simulations and an interactive environment to model and display a child's behavior based on interventions applied by the user."

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Child Development
Adolescent Development

Educational Psychology

Educational Psychology by Kelvin Seifert and Rosemary Sutton
Publication Date: 2011
Focuses on broader questions and principles taken from psychology per se, and the second half focuses on somewhat more practical issues of teaching. But the division between “theory” and “practice” is only approximate; all parts of the book draw on research, theory, and practical wisdom wherever appropriate. Chapter 2 is about learning theory, and Chapter 3 is about development; but as we point out, these topics overlap with each other as well as with the concerns of daily teaching. Chapter 4 is about several forms of student diversity (what might be called individual differences in another context), and Chapter 5 is about one form of diversity that has become prominent in schools recently—students with disabilities. Chapter 6 is about motivation, a topic that is heavily studied by psychological researchers, but that also poses perennial challenges to classroom teachers.

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.
Merlot Teacher Education Portal
Collection of teaching and learning materials for teacher education. Browse by broad category.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Educational Psychology

Elementary Education

Steps to Success
ISBN: 9781942341222
Publication Date: 2016-01-30
Introduces instructional strategies linked to the most current research-supported practices in the field of literacy. The book includes chapters related to scientifically-based literacy research, early literacy development, literacy assessment, digital age influences on children's literature, literacy development in underserved student groups, secondary literacy instructional strategies, literacy and modern language, and critical discourse analysis. Chapters are written by authors with expertise in both college teaching and the delivery of research-supported literacy practices in schools. The book features detailed explanations of a wide variety of literacy strategies that can be implemented by both beginning and expert practitioners. Readers will gain knowledge about topics frequently covered in college literacy courses, along with guided practice for applying this knowledge in their future or current classrooms. The book's success-oriented framework helps guide educators toward improving their own practices and is designed to foster the literacy development of students of all ages.

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.
Mathematics for Elementary Teachers
This book will help you to understand elementary mathematics more deeply, gain facility with creating and using mathematical notation, develop a habit of looking for reasons and creating mathematical explanations, and become more comfortable exploring unfamiliar mathematical situations. The primary goal of this book is to help you learn to think like a mathematician in some very specific ways.

Early Education and Care: Core Competencies
From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
First Year Teacher Program
The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
Open Learn
Teaching and learning resources from the Open University (based in UK).
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
UC Irvine Open Courses
Help in preparing for the CSET subject tests. Also offered is a ”four-part webinar series specifically designed to help participants better understand and more effectively support gifted students both at home and in the classroom.”

Edutopia: Education Video Library
Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.
PBS Learning Media
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Educational Psychology

Kinesiology

Anatomy and Physiology by James A. Wise; Mark Womble; Kelly A. Young; OpenStax College Staff; J. Gordon Betts; Peter DeSaix; Eddie Johnson; Jody E. Johnson; Oksana Korol; Dean H. Kruse; Brandon Poe
ISBN: 1938168135
Publication Date: 2013-06-01
A dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level.

Physiology by Boundless
Online open textbook including in-depth coverage of human physiology.
College Open Textbooks - Health
Listing of textbooks and learning materials on health and health-related topics.

MIT Open Courseware
Course format includes, lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
more...less...
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Sport Media and Culture: Who's Calling the Shots?
From the Open University, this course looks at the role played by the media in sport and how this has changed with the development of internet and satellite TV.

Exercising Advocacy: Some Personal Ideas and Experiences
This lecture by Prof. Timothy Noakes discusses the role of science in assisting the rise of South African cricket and ends with the story of Lewis Gordon Pugh’s swims in the Antarctic and Arctic including his epic 18 minutes (1km) swim at the North Pole in June 2007.
Mouse Activity
From the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, this 30-second video compares the activity of a normal mouse to one with a mutation in a key gene controlling obesity.
Orthopedic Assessment Methods
Dr. Scott Sailor (Cal State Fresno) created videos on several tests used to determine the type and extent of injuries.
Physical Education Videos
This collection of seven videos from the Dallas County Community College District are available free from iTunes. The videos demonstrate lower body workouts, upper body workouts, and a cardiorespiratory endurance test.

Sport
This online exhibition features a small selection of material held by the University of Nottingham relating to sport. It includes photographs of University sports teams and items relating to the wider history of team sports and individual exercise through the centuries. Click the "View Resource" link and the collection will open in a new window.

Nutrition

Human Biology -- Digestion and Nutrition
The Digestion and Nutrition Student Edition book is one of a series of volumes making up the Human Biology curriculum, an interdisciplinary and inquiry-based approach to the study of life science
Nutritional Disorders
Discusses the nutritional disorders defined by the Merck Manual.
Human Nutrition
Discusses the human body, diet, diseases, and pregnancy.

Healthcare and Medicine
A wonderful video compilation of healthcare and medicine topics: Lungs, The heart, and influenza are few posted.

MyPlate for Food Pyramid
Need help creating a diet for the little eater? This page provides ideas, plans, and activities to get even the most pickiest eater on the road to healthy eating.
Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs 3rd Edition

School Nutrition and Children
In this book the authors examine ways to improve the school nutrition safety and the school food supply. Federal nutrition programs are intended to provide children with healthful food to eat at school. During the last reauthorization of the Child Nutrition and National School Lunch Act, the authors required meals to be in line with the Department of Health and Human Services'dietary guidelines.
Caring for Our Children : National Health and Safety Performance Standards: Guidelines for Early Care and Early Education Programs
The new 3rd edition contains updated guidelines on the development and evaluation of the health and safety of children in all types of early care and education settings - centers and family child care homes.

Secondary Education

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.

OpenLearn
OpenLearn is a source of over 600 free online courses from The Open University.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
UC Irvine Open Courses
Help in preparing for the CSET subject tests. Also offered is a ”four-part webinar series specifically designed to help participants better understand and more effectively support gifted students both at home and in the classroom.”

Edutopia: Education Video Library
Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.
PBS Learning Media
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents.

Special Education

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.
Signing Savvy
Signing Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs.
Comprehensive Individualized Curriculum and Instructional Design: Curriculum and Instruction for Students with Developmental Disabilities/Autism Spectrum Disorders
This open textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities.
Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities and Mental Illness
This multidisciplinary resource develops topics of interest to all those who care about and for individuals with co-occurring intellectual disabilities and mental illness.
Special Education: A Beginner's Guide to Serving All Students

Early Education and Care: Core Competencies
From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
First Year Teacher Program
The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
OpenLearn
OpenLearn is a source of over 600 free online courses from The Open University.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.

PBS Learning Media
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents.
Edutopia: Education Video Library
Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Open Educational Resources: Education

Open Education Textbooks

Assessment

Child Development

Educational Psychology

Elementary Education

Kinesiology

Nutrition

Secondary Education

Special Education