Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Library Quick Guide for Faculty: Home

We know that the shift to online instruction will be stressful to students and faculty alike. IRSC Libraries are here to support you during and after the transition, and will make sure that you and your students have access to high quality library resources every step of the way. We have created a FAQ guide for students, and have included a number of quick resources for faculty and staff below. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us if you have any additional questions or concerns about accessing library resources, we’re here to help!

Library Hours

Each campus library also offers a variety of in-person resources, which include item pickup, study space appointments, and other services. Check out the library’s website for current information on available services.

Reference Resources

Connect with a Librarian

Students, faculty, and staff can schedule a remote session with a librarian by emailing us at library@irsc.edu. A librarian will contact you during regular business hours to schedule an appointment.

IRSC Librarians can also connect with students (and faculty!) in a number of different ways during business hours:

Online Library Services

Students, faculty, and staff can access all online resources with the following login information:
Email: IRSC email address (e.g. aperson@irsc.edu)
Password: the password you use for your IRSC email account

To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal. 

eBooks

The library provides access to over 160,000 eBooks on topics your students are studying this semester and can be used to supplement course readings or for research-based projects. You can see the collection under the Reading for Fun subject in our database list. eBook Collection (EBSCO) is our largest collection, and great for browsing.

eJournal and Newspaper Collections

The library provides digital access to thousands of academic journal articles, magazines, and newspapers. Journal databases are organized by subject and can be limited by date range, subject, and geography in most collections Check out the A-Z Databases list to see the full list or the recommended databases for your discipline. IRSC Libraries also provides current access to publications like the Chronicle of Higher Education, New York Times, and a number of Florida’s Newspapers, so you can stay up-to-date with news without subscription fees. 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides access to thousands of videos that you can embed in your course shell to supplement course materials. Check out the Faculty Resources page for help with adding videos to Blackboard, or contact a librarian at library@irsc.edu.

Testing Resources

Testing and Education Reference Center can help students prepare for upcoming exams like the NCLEX, ACT, and SAT, among many others. Basic skills resources can also help students practice math, reading, and writing skills at their own pace. Check out the Testing LibGuide for more resources. 

Interlibrary Loan

Library staff will continue to fill requests for journal articles through interlibrary loan whenever possible, but other school closures may impact the delivery of materials. 

Book Checkouts

All loan items from IRSC Libraries will have their due dates extended until the end of the semester, with no late fees. Visit the websites for our county library system partners to find out more about late fees on county-owned circulating materials.

Instruction

Virtual Sessions

Librarians are happy to host virtual instruction sessions during your regular scheduled class time. These instruction sessions can help students navigate library resources, use any citation style, and identity and evaluate resources. If you’d like to schedule a new virtual session for your students, fill out the instruction request form and a librarian will connect with you. 

Embedded Librarians

Through our embedded librarian program you can have a real, live librarian available to your students within your course shell. Librarians can provide research assistance within Blackboard through course messages, discussion board, and one-on-one student consultations. Email library@irsc.edu to arrange for an embedded librarian. 

On Demand Resources

Instruction Videos

The library has a number of on-demand videos that you can add to your classes. Some are included below, but reach out to the library at library@irsc.edu if you would like us to make a specific video for your students. See even more videos here.

Subject Guides

The Librarians have created a number of Subject Guides for your classes. Students can use the guides to find database suggestions, recommended websites, and many more resources. 

Citation Guides

Students can find information about citing in APA, MLA, CSE, and Chicago styles by visiting the LibGuide devoted to each. APA, CSE, and MLA papers may be submitted for review by an IRSC librarian:

Academic Dishonesty and Plagiarism Resources

Visit our Academic Dishonesty and Plagiarism page for faculty resources including a tutorial and plagiarism quiz.

Source Evaluation Resources

Visit our Evaluating Sources with RADAR page for faculty resources including a tutorial, infographic, video, and source evaluation quiz.

Online Teaching Resources