Skip to main content

Dental: Articles

This LibGuide is designed to assist IRSC students in the Dental Assistant, Dental Hygiene, & Dental Lab Technician programs.

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)

 

 

 

How to Log in to Databases

IRSC Dental Journals

Journal titles physically available at the Miley Library on Main Campus include:

  • Journal of Dental Education 
  • Journal of Dental Technology
  • Journal of Periodontology 
  • Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry 

Journal titles physically available in the Dental Department include:

  •  Access
  • Inside Dentistry
  • Journal of Dental Hygiene
  • Journal of Professional Excellence  - Dimension
  • Journal of the American Dental Association
  • Preventive Angle: Compendium
  • Today’s FDA (Florida Dental Association Journal)

Health and Medical Databases

Once you login to the database list, select the Health and Medicine databases. Health and Medicine Databases frequently used by dental students and faculty includes the following titles. If you need articles on related areas, review the database list by subject. ​​

Limit Your Search to Dental Journals

When searching a single database like MEDLINE with Full Text or CINAHL Plus Full Text you can limit your search to only dental journals. Because these databases contain articles from journals in all medical disciplines, this tactic can be very useful in weeding out non-dental journals. Follow these steps to make sure you're only seeing results from dental journals:

  • In the first search box type dent* . The asterisk is a "wildcard" that tells the database to search for all words with the root word "dent". This will retrieve words like dental, dentist, dentistry etc.
  • Select "SO Publication Name" from the dropdown menu to the right of the first search box.

This search strategy will only retrieve articles from journals with words like dental, dentist, or dentistry in their titles.

Remember to check "Full Text". Type in a keyword in the second or third search box and click the green "Search" button.

Open Access Dental Journals

Open access journals are not password protected. When using open access content, be sure to note whether or not the articles are peer-reviewed.