Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Other Health Sciences: Articles

Includes guides for pharmacy technician, radiology, surgical technology, and health services management fields.

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

Peterson's Test Prep Education and Career Center

Find the Peterson's Test Prep Education and Career Center database under the Test Prep subject heading in the list of databases by subject. Under Online Books (bottom middle of the home page) you will find eBooks for the Firefighter Exam and Basic EMT Certification. You must register as a user to use the resources, but registration is free. Access many more resources by exploring the links.

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal. 

MyPioneerPortal Login

How to Log in to Databases

Health Databases

Try these online databases to find health related peer-reviewed articles about your topic. Remember to choose FULL TEXT. Click the Health and Medicine subject to display the databases listed below.