Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an online database?
An online database is a collection of information, often journal articles, that can be retrieved via the Internet.
Why use an online database?
- It may be a requirement of your assignment.
- Database content is much more reliable than what you might find on the
- Journal articles are instantly accessible and searchable in online databases.
Can I find scholarly articles on the Web?
Yes, you can. Here are some suggested websites.
Database Login for Students
Your Borrower ID is your student ID.
Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).
How Do Public Patrons Login?
Public patrons or non-students can only access IRSC databases by visiting a campus library.
About IRSC's Online Databases
The College provides access to over 100 online databases. IRSC databases contain thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers, as well as eBooks, art work
Students have instant access to these databases via the Web. The
public can use the College databases by visiting any IRSC library.
Students click here to LOGIN!
Here are two general databases that can be used for most assignments.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
A multidisciplinary database with peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources including the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A multidisciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions with scholarly, full-text content from thousands of periodicals dating back as far as 1865.