Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When to Use Databases
Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use. Some of the databases listed below on the left side under IRSC Students & Staff are available to students and staff remotely (anywhere with Internet access) by logging in with a student ID and PIN. The databases from the Florida Electron Library listed on the right side of the screen below are available to any Florida resident. You may need to input your county library card number to gain access the first time you visit the website.
When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.
Database Login for Students
To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal.
Try these online databases to find health related peer-reviewed articles about your topic. Remember to choose FULL TEXT. Click the Health and Medicine subject to display the databases listed below.
EBSCO CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature and offers a wide variety of limiters underneath the search box.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Use the "Advanced Search" option and limit your search to documents with full text. If you get too many results, try adding more keywords. Find videos, podcasts, newspaper articles, academic journal articles, and magazine articles.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Full text for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care system, and much more.
Florida Electronic Library
Florida Electronic Library (https://www.flelibrary.com/)
Since 2003, the FEL has provided over 190 million articles, e-books, videos and other electronic resources to the citizens of Florida. Depending on your location, you may need to enter your public library card number the first time you visit the website in order to access all of the information. Library cards are free at your local county library.
List of Health Databases
Made available through the Florida Electronic Library.
Health & Wellness Resource Center
Access full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices for researchers of all levels.
Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world's largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
The Merk Manuals
Medical information resources for both medical professionals and consumers. The manuals are created by medical experts worldwide and are editorially independent from Merck & Co.
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.