Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Success: Articles

Information on finding career resources at the IRSC Libraries for student success courses.

Biography in Context (Gale)


Use the Biography in Context database to find famous people by career. Conduct an Occupational Search to read about historical figures with the same career choice as you. Or research founders and inventors to see what path they chose to rise above the rest.

Testing & Education Reference Center

Find the Testing & Education Reference Center database under the Reference subject heading in the list of databases by subject. Click Career Tools, then click Career Assessment you will find a career assessment you can take to match your personality to compatible job skills. Another useful option is the Virtual Career Library. You must register as a user to use the resources, but registration is free. Access many more resources by exploring the links.

College Student Journal

Academic journal from the Academic One File database, you must log-in to read the full-text of these articles.

Loading ...

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal. 

MyPioneerPortal Login

How to Log in to Databases

Leadership Resources