Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CQ's Hot Topics
Below are weekly updated RSS feeds from the CQ Researcher database. To read the full-text of these articles you must first log-in to IRSC's databases.
Suggested Databases for a Persuasive/Argumentative Speech
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is the Congressional Quarterly of the US Congress. This journal provides unbiased research on many of the bills and amendments put before Congress. Each topic provdes a timeline for you to track the milestones of a topic as it goes through the legislature.
Opposing Viewpoints Gale This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints provides more resources on a single topic than the two databases mentioned above. It's a good place to find a topic and also a good place if you are looking for additional information on a topic you can't find elsewhere. Check-out the tabs above a topic to find encylopedia/dictionary entries, statistics, websites, and multimedia resources.
Suggested Databases for an Informative Speech
Depending on your topic, you can choose from a variety of databases. This is when the databases by subject listing comes in handy. If you're not sure where to look, try the ones under the "General" or "Reference" subject headings.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database that will have information on a variety of topics. Remember to limit your search to full-text.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical information often helps you to understand an inventor, writer, political figure, religious icon, historian, or scientist better when learning about their contributions to society.
Database Login for Students
To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal.
How to Log in to Databases