LibGuides: Speech: Books

Suggested Book Series for an Argumentative/Persuasive Speech

Current Controversies by Greenhaven Press Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737770025
Publication Date: 2014-08-29
Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of primary sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields. This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic.

The library collects a few different series of books that are produced for the college student giving an argumentative speech. Many times these series are compilations of several different scholarly authors' work on the same topic. Sometimes they will give you the pro of an issue and then the con of the issue, making it easy to read both sides of a controversy in two short chapters! Look for the following series by name using the keyword search option in the IRSC catalog.

Opposing Viewpoints by No'l Merino (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737763041
Publication Date: 2013-06-11
Each title in the highly acclaimed Opposing Viewpoints series explores a specific issue by placing expert opinions in a unique pro/con format; the viewpoints are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find publications.

Suggested Books for an Informative Speech

Encyclopedia of Forensic Science by Suzanne Bell
ISBN: 9780816067992
Publication Date: 2008-06-01

If you need ideas for an informative topic you can use this search strategy to find a variety of books on different subjects at the library. Search for the keyword 'Encyclopedia' and browse the listings for ideas. If you have an idea for a topic, search for the main keyword(s) to find books on your topic.

Informative Speech topics can be:

How to... History of... Famous... Strategies for...

All about... Origins of... Reviews of... Compare and contrast...

Search for Books

Privacy and Use Policy Website and resources managed by the Florida Virtual Campus | This Site Uses Google Analytics (Google Privacy Policy)

Find eBooks at IRSC

To access IRSC Libraries eBook collections, start by logging in with your MyPioneerPortal credentials.

Click on the IRSC Libraries tile.

Click Databases by Subject

Click Reading for Fun in the list of subjects

Reading for Fun on the Subjects list

Choose an eBook collection to browse or search. The largest collections are Axis 360: Florida SHARES and eBook Collection (EBSCO).