LibGuides: Abortion and Reproductive Rights: Information for Clinicians and Researchers

Educational Resources for Providers

HIPAA Privacy Rule, Disclosures, and Reporting for Providers

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) provides guidance on disclosing information relating to productive healthcare including which disclosures are permitted and which are required.

The Guttmacher Institute tracks Abortion Reporting Requirements by state.

Legal Questions and Support

Suggested Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
EBSCO MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text is an indispensable tool for medical research providing full text for top biomedical and health journals. These journals contain information needed by doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers.
EBSCO CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.
Ovid Nursing Full-Text Journal Collection This link opens in a new window
Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the ideal resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine integrates millions of articles from a wide range of full-text nursing and allied health journals, magazines, newsletters and select consumer health information sources with full-text reference works and hundreds of health-related multimedia.

Suggested Keywords

General keywords: abortion, pro-choice, pro-life, fetus, pregnancy, unwanted pregnancy, reproductive rights, fetal rights, bodily autonomy, family planning, birth control, pro-choice or pro-life, right to choose, right to life, Roe v. Wade, Dobbs v. Jackson Women's Health Organization, heartbeat bill

Medication abortion keywords: abortion medication, mifepristone, misoprostol, medication abortion, abortion pills, abortion with pills, self-managed abortion

Surgical abortion keywords: surgical abortion, aspiration abortion, in-clinic abortion, abortion procedure

PubMed Search Strategies

You can copy and paste these search strategies into the search bar for the appropriate database. Concepts can be connected using Boolean operators (AND/OR/NOT). For example, you can conduct a broad search for self-care and abortion by combining those search strategies with an AND:

("Abortion, Induced"[Mesh] OR Abortion*[tiab] OR "Embryotom*"[tiab] OR "Abortifacient*"[tiab]) AND ("Self-Management"[Mesh] OR Self-manag*[tiab] OR Self-care[tiab] OR Self-Treat*[tiab] OR Self-nurtur*[tiab] OR Selfmanag*[tiab] OR Selfcare[tiab] OR Selftreat*[tiab] OR Selfnurtur*[tiab])

PubMed Search Strategies (can be used on PubMed or PubMed Central)

Abortion

Focused search strategy: ("Abortion, Induced"[Majr])

Broad search strategy: ("Abortion, Induced"[Mesh] OR Abortion*[tiab] OR "Embryotom*"[tiab] OR "Abortifacient*"[tiab])

Self-Management

Focused search strategy: ("Self-Management"[Majr])

Broad search strategy: ("Self-Management"[Mesh] OR Self-manag*[tiab] OR Self-care[tiab] OR Self-Treat*[tiab] OR Self-nurtur*[tiab] OR Selfmanag*[tiab] OR Selfcare[tiab] OR Selftreat*[tiab] OR Selfnurtur*[tiab])

Abortion Medication

Focused search strategy: ("Abortifacient Agents"[Majr] OR "Mifepristone"[Majr] OR "Misoprostol"[Majr])

Broad search strategy: ("Abortifacient Agents"[Mesh] OR "Mifepristone"[Mesh] OR "Misoprostol"[Mesh] OR "Abortifacient*"[tiab] OR "Abortive Agent*"[tiab] OR "Abortion Agent*"[tiab] OR "Abortive Drug*"[tiab] OR "Abortion Drug*"[tiab] OR "Postconception-Contracept*"[tiab] OR "Mifepristone"[tiab] OR "Korlym"[tiab] OR "Mifeprex"[tiab] OR "Misoprostol"[tiab] OR "Cytotec"[tiab])