Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

Medical Laboratory Technology: Books

Interlibrary Loan

IRSC can borrow many different titles from other libraries. If you have a specific title you want, you can search for it using the IRSC full catalog by changing the At search to All 28 Colleges. If you find the title there, click on the college name at the bottom of the record and then click 'Request' to request the book from that college. If you are looking for a specific article or book not found in the catalog, use the ILL links below to place your request.

  • Interlibrary Loan Article Icon
    Request journal or magazine articles not available in full-text format from the IRSC databases.
  • Interlibrary Loan Book Icon
    Request materials not available at IRSC or at any of the other 27 college within the Florida College System.

When to Use the Online Catalog

The catalog is your main access point to locate physical materials found within the library, as well as eBooks and eAudiobooks. Print books, eBooks, print journals, DVDs, audiobooks, and government publications can all be found by conducting a keyword, author, title, or subject search in the catalog. You may also find Internet resources in the catalog. Click here to access IRSC's online library catalog.

The catalog search will look for words in the title, abstract, major subject headings, and (sometimes) tables of content. When searching the catalog, it is important to remember that you are not searching the full text of these items. For this reason, you will get a much smaller, but more precise, return on a search than you would in a database or Internet search. If you have a very narrow search term, you will need to use broader terms to find materials on the subject.

Find eBooks at IRSC

To get to the databases, start at www.irsc.edu

Click Libraries on the bottom left

Click Find Articles

Click Databases by Subject

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (for employees it is your PID).

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

 

 

Digital Books Database

Search for Books

IRSC Catalog Search

Browsing the Library Collection

IRSC shelves its physical resources using the Library of Congress call number system. Some call numbers of interest to MLT students and faculty include:

Q - Science

QD - Chemistry

QM - Human anatomy

QP - Human physiology

QR - Microbiology

R - Medicine

RB - Pathology (RB37-RB56.5 MLT)

RC - Internal medicine (RC633-647.5 Diseases of the blood)