LibGuides: Medical Laboratory Technology: Articles

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.

IRSC MLT Journals

Journal titles physically available at the Miley Library on Main Campus include:

For the Record
JAMA
LabMedicine

Students are encouraged to subscribe to a professional journal/magazine in their preferred area of study. These titles link to free subscriptions.

Health and Medical Databases

Once you login to the database list, select the Health and Medicine databases. Health and Medicine Databases frquently use by MLT students and faculty include the following titles. If you need articles on related areas, please review the database list by subject.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)

Google Scholar (open web - Click on Scholar Preferences and input IRSC as a Library Link. Articles in IRSC databases will also show in Google Scholar although you will need to input your Borrower ID and PIN to access.)

Health and Wellness Resource Center (Gale)

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)

Salem Health (Salem Press)