LibGuides: Human Services: Articles

Recommended Databases

The interdisciplinary nature of human services requires one to search a number of different subject databases to find useful journal articles. Depending on your topic, you might look into criminal justice, education, health, psychology, or humanities databases to find journal articles on your topic.

EBSCO APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search is a monthly indexing service. It was first published in 1997 by EBSCO Publishing in Ipswich, Massachusetts. Its academic focus is international universities, covering social science, education, psychology, and other subjects.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Database is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.
EBSCO Education Source This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers, Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal.

How to Log in to Databases

Find Specific Journals

Did you know? You can search all the databases to see if we carry a specific journal title. From the River Search on the library homepage, select the three dots in the top menu to see more options and then select Journal Search to get to the journal search, here is the URL: https://irsc-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_IRSC:IRSC&lang=en

Type the Journal Name into the search box, then click Search. Find the correct journal title and click on the Database you want to use or search directly within the journal for your article title or keywords.. If the journal is available in one of the databases, the journal will have a list of database(s) where you access the journal along with the years represented in the database(s), see an example journal available from multiple databases and covering different years below.