Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us Anything!
You've been tasked with writing a 6-8 page research paper that provides an overview of a human services agency or entitlement program. Your analysis will cover various aspects of the agency or program including history, mission statement, government, effects, future, and solutions. You'll need to support your thesis and findings with quality sources of information from the Libraries' databases, newspapers, legislation, budget and possibly other sources.
Database Login for Students
To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal.
Florida News Sources (NewsBank)
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources including the Stuart News. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.
Florida Legislature Search
This free database provides access to all of Florida's legislation. Try searching for your agency or program's name in the box under "exact phrase."
Florida Fiscal Portal
The Florida Fiscal Portal provides access to many public records related to state fiscal business. Try searching for your agency or program and skimming through the documents for its name. Hint: use "CRTL+F" to find words in a document.
IRSC Databases by Subject
This is a list of the over 100 IRSC Library databases.
America’s News (Newsbank)
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including the Stuart News Collection.
Search for Articles using Google Scholar
To add the FIND TEXT @ IRSC link to your search results, click the bars (also called a hamburger icon) in the top left then click Settings. Next, click on Library Links. Type in Indian River State College and click the magnifying glass and then place a checkmark in the box next to the results and click Save.