Skip to Main Content

ENC1102 Alvarez: Home

Library Session Link:

irsc.libguides.com/kallich1102

Library Email

library@irsc.edu

Suggested Databases & Additional MLA Resources

Using Gale Literature Resource Center

Using JSTOR

Search for Articles using Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

To add the FIND TEXT @ IRSC link to your search results, click the bars (also called a hamburger icon)Google Scholar Advanced Options in the top left then click Settings. Next, click on Library Links. Type in Indian River State College and click the magnifying glass and then place a checkmark in the box next to the results and click Save. 

Annotated Bibliography

This template includes a space to add your topic and thesis statement as this is preferred for the annotated bibliography assignments in ENC courses taught at IRSC. Always follow your professor's instructions over any instructions on this LibGuide or inside the MLA Handbook.

Your professor may ask that you create an annotated bibliography in MLA style. An annotated bibliography is similar to the Works Cited page found at the end of a paper. The paper formatting is the same but instead of following a full research paper, the student will write a brief annotation for each source which will directly follow the source's Works Cited entry. The annotations contain descriptive or evaluative comments about your sources. Annotations should be short, typically no longer than one paragraph. Indent the annotation an inch from the start of the entry. Each citation should adhere to MLA guidelines. The title might be 'Annotated Bibliography' or 'Annotated List of Works Cited'.

Below is an example of an annotated bibliography in MLA style. You are welcome to use the template linked above to get you started with the correct formatting.

Updated MLA 9th Edition Annotated Bibliography Example

MLA Style Paper Template

You can save a personal template in Microsoft Word (IRSC students, download Office for free, see a librarian if you need help). Above is a template you can use every time you need to set-up a research paper using MLA style format. Simply open the template and type your own information every time you need to write an MLA style paper. Microsoft Word will allow you to save personal templates. Once you have the template opened in Word

Click "Save as"

Give the file a name

Under "Save as type", select Word Template

Then when you open Word, you will be able to choose a template rather than a blank document. You might have to select Personal to find your template.