Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MHF 4404: History of Math
Welcome to the LibGuide for History of Math. This guide features specific library resources that will help you in completing your final paper.
Finding Books in the Library
Try looking in the "QA" section of any of the IRSC Libraries for books that discuss the history of mathematics.
Searching Multiple Databases
For this project, you may want to search for articles in more than one database. Many of the journals are in EBSCO databases. Follow these steps to search all of the EBSCO databases at once:
- Log in following the steps in the box above and view the databases by subject.
- Click "Sciences".
- Click "General Science Full Text (EBSCO)."
- Click "Connect to Database". A new window should open displaying the EBSCO search interface.
- At the top of the page, click the "Choose Databases" link.
- Check "Select All" and click the "Ok" button.
Springer's Mathematics and Statistics eJournal Collection provides access to many articles about the history of mathematics. Below are a few specific journals that may be of use in your research. Search the titles in Springer to access the complete journals.
- Archive for History of Exact Sciences
- Educational Studies in Mathematics
- Japanese Journal of Mathamatics
Useful Primary and Historical Sources
Unknown Quantity by
Call Number: HV9104 .T74 2008
Publication Date: 2006-05-02
The History of Mathematics by
Call Number: HV6439.U5 G363 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-28
Women Becoming Mathematicians by
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
You must login to view this eBook online.
The History of the History of Mathematics by
Publication Date: 2012-01-01