Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eBooks and eAudiobooks: IRSC Libraries eBooks & eAudiobooks

eBooks from IRSC Libraries

IRSC Libraries eBooks

IRSC Libraries subscribes to several different eBook collections you can access by logging in with your MyPioneerPortal credentials. Instructions for how to use EBSCO and Libby (OverDrive) collections are included on this LibGuide.

Can't log in? Need help? Have an eBook purchase request? Contact us at library@irsc.edu with your questions. We can help!

eBooks Collections at IRSC Libraries

Libby (OverDrive) eBooks & eAudiobooks

Click on Libby (eBooks) under Reading For Fun.

Reading for Fun

You will see the OverDrive/Libby homepage. Click on Sign In in the top right.

 

OverDrive/Libby Sign In

 

Log in with your MyPioneerPortal/RiverMail email address and password. You will receive a code via text message to enter.

MyPioneerPortal log in screen

Browse or search for titles.

You may borrow up to three titles at any time and you may place up to three titles on hold. You will be notified when your holds are ready for check out.

To renew a title, select the Renew button on your Loans page. This option appears below the title three days before it’s due.

If the title has holds on it, you won’t be able to renew it. Instead, you can select the Request Again button to place a hold on the title and borrow it again when it’s available.

Libby App

The free Libby app is available for iOS and Android. The app allows you to search for, access, and read or listen to books on your mobile device.

Once installed, click Add a library and search for Indian River State College.

Log in with your MyPioneerPortal credentials (RiverMail email address and password). You will receive a code via text message to enter.

Visit this page for more information about the Libby app.

 

Reading Libby/OverDrive eBooks on a Kindle

Some of the eBooks in Libby are available for electronic transfer to a Kindle. If you prefer to read on a Kindle, you can change your settings in OverDrive/Libby to return Kindle compatible titles only in your search results. Visit this page for step by step instructions for sending library eBooks to your Kindle. You will need your Amazon password, Kindle's email address, and MyPioneerPortal credentials handy.

Find eBooks & eAudiobooks at IRSC

To get to IRSC Libraries' eBook collections, start at irsc.libguides.com

Click Databases by Subject in the top right.

Click Reading for Fun in the Subjects list.

Audiobook Collection (EBSCO), eBook Collection (EBSCO), and Libby (eBooks) are our largest collections of eBooks. Click on your choice.

Login to the eBook collection with your RiverMail email address and password.

MyPioneerPortal log in screen

Search or browse to find eBooks you can read/listen to now or place holds to be added to the wait list and notified when it's your turn.

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

Click on eBook Collection (EBSCO) under Reading For Fun.

You will be asked to log in if you haven't previously. Use your MyPioneerPortal credentials (RiverMail email address and password) to log in.

Search for eBooks by author, title, subject, or keyword.

You can read the eBooks in the browser.

In the detailed record for an eBook, you can learn about publisher permissions like the ability to print or save pages or copy/paste from an eBook. You can also see the concurrent user level which tells you how many people can view the eBook at the same time.

To read the eBook offline on your computer, you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions and authorize it with your Adobe ID. If you do not have an Adobe ID you can create one. Once Adobe Digital Editions is downloaded and authorized, check out an eBook and download it to read it in the Adobe Digital Editions program rather than the browser.

Instructions for Downloading EBSCO eBooks (College Library eBooks)

Adobe Digital Editions is free software required for reading EBSCO and RBDigital eBooks offline. There is also an Adobe Digital Editions app you can use to read EBSCO eBooks on a smart phone.

Get more help from the EBSCOhost website, click here.

Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions is free software required for reading EBSCO eBooks offline.

Audiobook Collection EBSCO

From EBSCOhost's Audiobook Tutorial:

Downloading an Audiobook to the App

Once you have checked out an Audiobook, you can download it to the Audiobooks app on your Android or Apple device.

To download Audiobooks using the app:

  1. From the result list, click the Check Out link to check out the Audiobook.

  2. If you are not already signed in, sign into My EBSCOhost with your personal user ID and password.

    Note: If you do not have a user ID and password to check out Audiobooks, please see your institution's administrator to learn how to get one.

  3. Select a checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Check Out button.

    You are prompted to download and install the EBSCO Audiobooks App to your Apple or Android device.

  4. After installing the app on your device, open the app and log in with the My EBSCOhost user ID and password you used to check out the Audiobook on EBSCOhost. If your institution uses SSO authentication, click the Single Sign On link and enter the credentials provided by your institution.

  5. Your checked out Audiobook titles are displayed on the Library screen. Tap Download to download a title to your device or tap the cover image to view more information about it.

  6. You can choose to Download the title or Play a Sample of it prior to downloading it.

    Note: The Apple version of the Audiobooks app does not include the Play a Sample button at this time.

  7. After your title has begun to download, tap the Play button to begin listening to the Audiobook.