LibGuides: Digital Media: Articles

Streaming Video

TEDTalks: Brenda Brathwaite—Gaming for Understanding
It's never easy to get across the magnitude of complex tragedies, so when Brenda Brathwaite's daughter came home from school asking about slavery, she did what she does for a living: she designed a game. At TEDxPhoenix, Brathwaite describes the surprising effectiveness of this game and others in helping the player really understand the story.

Visit the Fims on Demand database to access more streaming video from the IRSC Libraries.

Game Developer

Available from Academic One File (Gale) database, listed under the General subject heading. To read the article, login to the database.

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal.

How to Log in to Databases

Recommended Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Select Advanced Search for keyword searching and limit your search to full-text.

Computer Science eJournal Collection (Springer)
Browse titles in the collection by subtopic or search within the whole collection by keyword.

Animation Magazine

Available from the OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition, listed under the General subject heading. To read the article, login to the database.