LibGuides: ENC1102 Banerjee Chastain: Articles

How to Log in to Databases

Database Login for Students

The Borrower ID for the login is your IRSC student ID number

The PIN/Password is the 4 digit month and day of your birthday MMDD

Suggested Databases

EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search is a monthly indexing service. It was first published in 1997 by EBSCO Publishing in Ipswich, Massachusetts. Its academic focus is international universities, covering social science, education, psychology, and other subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Offering up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 published novelists in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
EBSCO Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus is the definitive literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides. It gives students a complete foundation of literary reference works.

Search Tips

Truncation Add an asterisk (*) to a root word to expand your search. For example, searching with the term femin*will result in articles containing the keywords feminist, feminism, feminine.

Limiting Limit your results by searching for full text, peer reviewed, date, and other limiters

Exact Match Placing multiple keywords in quotations forces the database to look for the words together. For example, if I was searching for articles on the Harlem Renaissance I would type "Harlem Renaissance" in the search box.