LibGuides: Social Sciences: Specialized Primary Source Repositories

Name: IRSCLibraries
Address: 3209 Virginia Avenue, Fort Pierce, , FL, 34981
Telephone: (772) 462-7600

Duke University Libraries' Digital Collections

The Duke University libraries has many digitized collections of materials, including:

Advertising (print and early television)
Women's Liberation
Slave Voices
Historic American Sheet Music
Oral Histories of African-Americans
Papyrus Archives

To find and select a collection for your needs, go to the Duke University Libraries' Digital Collections page.

Primary Source Materials Online

Bracero History Archive
Oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
FBI Records: The Vault
Over 6,700 documents the FBI has digitized and made publicly available.
Harvard University's Women Working 1800-1930
A unique virtual collection, comprising over 650,000 individual pages from more than 3,100 books and trade catalogs, 900 archives and manuscript items, and 1,400 photographs. Women Working is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression.
more...less...
Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.
Massachusetts Historical Society's Adams Family Papers
This electronic archive presents images of manuscripts and digital transcriptions from the Adams Family Papers. Correspondence between John and Abigail Adams is included.
Michigan State University Libraries' American Radicalism
The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.
Northern illinois University Libraries' Documents of the American Revolutionary Period, 1774-1776
Thousands of pamphlets, booklets, and newspaper articles pertaining to the "Origin, Settlement, and Progress of the Colonies in North America" from the Revolutionary Era.
Primary Source Sets: Digital Public Library of America
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee. Read about our education projects and contact us with feedback at education@dp.la.
The American Presidency Project at UC Santa Barbara
Thousands of documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates. Public papers of the presidents from Washington to Bush.
more...less...
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents:
Hoover to G.W. Bush (1929-2007)
& Obama (2011-Book I)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents:
Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents:
Obama (2009-2015)
The Cornell University Witchcraft Collectiion
Part of Cornell University Library’s Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell's Witchcraft Collection contains over 3,000 titles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft, primarily in Europe.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language.