Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Employees: Employee Guide to the Databases

Database (Articles) versus Book (or eBooks)

When a student needs an overview, a broad understanding, historical background information on a topic, or does not know much about the topic then a BOOK is the best source. When a student needs or has a very narrow topic or idea then an ARTICLE is usually better. Other than a print book or an eBook, you can find overviews or broad backgrounds in the following databases.

Biology

Number One Places to find Biology Articles

Within Biology some topics may fit these databases, depends on the topic

Business

Scholarly, Peer-Review Journals

Publicly traded Company Info.

Demographic Info. (Population, Income, Age, Race, etc.)

Local News/Local Company Info.

Community Patrons

Community patrons can only use the databases when on-campus. Staff should login for the patron using their login, but do not share this information with them.

It is recommended you show them the county libraries' databases.

Education

Being that the first three databases for education topics are all EBSCO products, one can select one of these databases and then select Choose Databases to search all three at once.

We subscribe to several k-12 databases that can be a resource for students in education to find resources for lesson plans.

English/Literature

Best for Literary Criticism

No other database will have Literature Criticism, but you will find Book Reviews which is Not the same. Students may also write a literature paper about the social issues present in a book which means they can use ANY OTHER database that matches their topic because these are not Literary Criticisms.

Students in ENC1101 frequently have to write a persuasive/argumentative OR an informative paper. For this assignment you will not use a literary criticism database like the ones listed above.

Use the above for persuasive/argumentative papers. For informative papers, use a book source or any database recommended under the discipline that most closely matches the student's topic.

General

History

Find Primary Sources. This database goes from 1851-2007. 

Nursing

Usually nursing students need peer-reviewed journal articles, from an American nursing journal, written by a nurse, and published within the past five years. CINAHL allows you to put all these limiters on a search. See nursing LibGuide to find out how.

Ovid contains ONLY Nursing journals.
You have to determine if it is American, published within the last five years, and written by a nurse.

Very good medical database, but articles are USUALLY harder to read, more advanced.

Psychology

There is 1 Psychology database, listed under Social Sciences. Of course you may find other psychology-related topics under other disciplines. If the students can't find what they want in PsycArticles try a different database and add the word psychology to the search or another word that means whatever phenomenon the student wants, i.e. 

in Academic Search Complete searching for 

addiction AND adolescents AND gaming

Streaming Audiobooks

Both databases offer an app for patrons to use to stream audiobooks in their car, if their car has this technology. Recommend the county libraries' database of OneDrive for streaming audio and eBooks for entertainment purposes. Indian River, St. Lucie, and Martin county library systems have this database.

Streaming Videos

Mostly, Films on Demand is the database to use for streaming video content; however, other databases do have multimedia. If the patron wants scholarly video content that he or she cannot locate here, please refer to a librarian for other options.

Testing

Testing Ref. Center asks the person to make an account the first time they access tests so they can save their work and return later, it is FREE. eBook database by EBSCO has many testing books available just search by the test name and study guide or test.