LibGuides: Education: Open Educational Resources

Assessment

Educational Psychology Text from OpenSUNY
Chapters 11 & 12 are about assessment.

Click the link and then login to see the results of each subject search listed below. When searching for a library eBook to use for all your students, look for the Concurrent User Level field in the eBook description. Unlimited User Access eBooks can be used by everyone at the same time.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Transforming Formative Assessment in Post-Compulsory Education: Through a series of case studies, the book highlights how factors in one learning context can conspire to make feedback and other forms of formative assessment highly instrumental, whilst in others this can be a springboard to deep and meaningful learning.
Classroom Assessment in Action: Includes Orientation to Assessment, Planning Assessments, Observation: Bases of Assessment, Formative Assessment: Using Assessment for Improving Instruction, Performance Assessment, Developing Objective Tests, Developing Subjective Tests, Selecting Standardized Tests, Technology in Assessment, Improving Tests, Domain-Specific Assessment and Learning, Grading, Supplementary Assessments of Individual Differences, High-Stakes Testing: Policy and Accountability, Assessment and Best Practices, Test Bias, Fairness, and Testing Accommodations.
Advancing Formative Assessment in Every Classroom : A Guide for Instructional Leaders
What Teachers Really Need to Know About Formative Assessment: Explains how to make formative assessments a seamless and natural part of the teaching process and provides assessment strategies that can be used before, during, and after instruction to learning.
Designing Elementary Instruction and Assessment : Using the Cognitive Domain: This user-friendly resource gives teachers clear, step-by-step guidelines for writing measurable objectives and developing appropriate formative and summative assessments to guide instruction in the elementary classroom.
Introduction to Rubrics : An Assessment Tool to Save Grading Time, Convey Effective Feedback, and Promote Student Learning: 1 WHAT IS A RUBRIC?, 2 WHY USE RUBRICS?, 3 HOW TO CONSTRUCT A RUBRIC, 4 RUBRIC CONSTRUCTION AND THE CLASSROOM, 5 RUBRIC CONSTRUCTION WITH OTHERS: TEACHING ASSISTANTS, TUTORS, OR COLLEAGUES, 6 GRADING WITH RUBRICS, and 7 VARIATIONS ON THE THEME

Florida Standards Assessments
This portal is your source for information about the Florida Standards Assessments.
CPALMS
CPALMS is an online toolbox of information, vetted resources, and interactive tools that helps educators effectively implement teaching standards. It is the State of Florida’s official source for standards information and course descriptions.
Saint Lucie County Schools Accreditation Report
FLDOE Accountability Office
Access the following; school grades, assessments, data systems, reports, resources, publications, guides, and interactive reporting.
Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium
This site provides examples of test questions used on Smarter Balanced assessments in English language arts/literacy and math. Teachers, parents, students, administrators, and policymakers can experience these test items just as students encounter them.

CPALMS Professional Development Tutorials

Child Development

Developmental Psychology
Text covering the progressive psychological changes that occur in learners up to adolescence.

Learning Space - The Open University
This site provides free courses on the topic of childhood and youth.
Tufts Open Courseware
This site provides open access courses on the topic of child & youth development, including topics such as Human Growth and Development, Intellectual Development, Child Development and the PITS, Promoting Positive Development among Youth, and more.

Child Development Journal
A multidisciplinary, not-for-profit, professional association with an international membership of approximately 5,500 researchers, practitioners, and human development professionals. This site provides free access to some of the articles published in this journal.
Child Development Research
“Child Development Research is a peer-reviewed open-access journal that publishes original research articles as well as review articles in all areas of child development research.”
Early Childhood Research & Practice (ECRP) Journal
Open-access, peer-reviewed, bilingual Internet journal in early care and education.
CALiO E-Publications
From The Child Abuse Library Online (CALiO) of the National Children's Advocacy Center (NCAC), “full-text of publications that do not require fee or password. Many of the publications included in this collection were published by state and federal government agencies, and are in the public domain. Others were funded by foundations or other organizations for open access.”
PBS Media Learning
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, interactives, audios and documents
American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
This is a site dedicated to "Assisting parents and families in understanding developmental, behaviorial, emotional and mental disorders affecting children and adolescents."
Child Development Institute
A site "designed to provide the information and tools parents need to understand their unique child/children and to enable them to help each child develop into the successful human being they were meant to be." Has useful sections about Ages/Stages, Development, Health/Safety, Psychology, and more.
Developmental Psychology Links by Subtopic
From the Social Psychology Network, links related to infancy, adoption, childhood development, child protection, parenting, adolescence, and more. Organized by topic.
Behavior Breakthroughs App for iOS
Free app. "Training application using simulations and an interactive environment to model and display a child's behavior based on interventions applied by the user."

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Child Development
Adolescent Development

Educational Psychology

Educational Psychology by Kelvin Seifert and Rosemary Sutton
Publication Date: 2011

Focuses on broader questions and principles taken from psychology per se, and the second half focuses on somewhat more practical issues of teaching. But the division between “theory” and “practice” is only approximate; all parts of the book draw on research, theory, and practical wisdom wherever appropriate. Chapter 2 is about learning theory, and Chapter 3 is about development; but as we point out, these topics overlap with each other as well as with the concerns of daily teaching. Chapter 4 is about several forms of student diversity (what might be called individual differences in another context), and Chapter 5 is about one form of diversity that has become prominent in schools recently—students with disabilities. Chapter 6 is about motivation, a topic that is heavily studied by psychological researchers, but that also poses perennial challenges to classroom teachers.

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.
Merlot Teacher Education Portal
Collection of teaching and learning materials for teacher education. Browse by broad category.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Educational Psychology

Elementary Education

Steps to Success
ISBN: 9781942341222

Publication Date: 2016-01-30

Introduces instructional strategies linked to the most current research-supported practices in the field of literacy. The book includes chapters related to scientifically-based literacy research, early literacy development, literacy assessment, digital age influences on children's literature, literacy development in underserved student groups, secondary literacy instructional strategies, literacy and modern language, and critical discourse analysis. Chapters are written by authors with expertise in both college teaching and the delivery of research-supported literacy practices in schools. The book features detailed explanations of a wide variety of literacy strategies that can be implemented by both beginning and expert practitioners. Readers will gain knowledge about topics frequently covered in college literacy courses, along with guided practice for applying this knowledge in their future or current classrooms. The book's success-oriented framework helps guide educators toward improving their own practices and is designed to foster the literacy development of students of all ages.

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.
Mathematics for Elementary Teachers
This book will help you to understand elementary mathematics more deeply, gain facility with creating and using mathematical notation, develop a habit of looking for reasons and creating mathematical explanations, and become more comfortable exploring unfamiliar mathematical situations. The primary goal of this book is to help you learn to think like a mathematician in some very specific ways.

Early Education and Care: Core Competencies
From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
First Year Teacher Program
The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
Open Learn
Teaching and learning resources from the Open University (based in UK).
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
UC Irvine Open Courses
Help in preparing for the CSET subject tests. Also offered is a ”four-part webinar series specifically designed to help participants better understand and more effectively support gifted students both at home and in the classroom.”

Edutopia: Education Video Library
Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.
PBS Learning Media
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

Educational Psychology

Kinesiology

Anatomy and Physiology by James A. Wise; Mark Womble; Kelly A. Young; OpenStax College Staff; J. Gordon Betts; Peter DeSaix; Eddie Johnson; Jody E. Johnson; Oksana Korol; Dean H. Kruse; Brandon Poe
ISBN: 1938168135

Publication Date: 2013-06-01

A dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level.

Physiology by Boundless
Online open textbook including in-depth coverage of human physiology.
College Open Textbooks - Health
Listing of textbooks and learning materials on health and health-related topics.

MIT Open Courseware
Course format includes, lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).

more... less...

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
Sport Media and Culture: Who's Calling the Shots?
From the Open University, this course looks at the role played by the media in sport and how this has changed with the development of internet and satellite TV.

Exercising Advocacy: Some Personal Ideas and Experiences
This lecture by Prof. Timothy Noakes discusses the role of science in assisting the rise of South African cricket and ends with the story of Lewis Gordon Pugh’s swims in the Antarctic and Arctic including his epic 18 minutes (1km) swim at the North Pole in June 2007.
Mouse Activity
From the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, this 30-second video compares the activity of a normal mouse to one with a mutation in a key gene controlling obesity.
Orthopedic Assessment Methods
Dr. Scott Sailor (Cal State Fresno) created videos on several tests used to determine the type and extent of injuries.
Physical Education Videos
This collection of seven videos from the Dallas County Community College District are available free from iTunes. The videos demonstrate lower body workouts, upper body workouts, and a cardiorespiratory endurance test.

Sport
This online exhibition features a small selection of material held by the University of Nottingham relating to sport. It includes photographs of University sports teams and items relating to the wider history of team sports and individual exercise through the centuries. Click the "View Resource" link and the collection will open in a new window.

Nutrition

Human Biology -- Digestion and Nutrition
The Digestion and Nutrition Student Edition book is one of a series of volumes making up the Human Biology curriculum, an interdisciplinary and inquiry-based approach to the study of life science
Nutritional Disorders
Discusses the nutritional disorders defined by the Merck Manual.
Human Nutrition
Discusses the human body, diet, diseases, and pregnancy.

Healthcare and Medicine
A wonderful video compilation of healthcare and medicine topics: Lungs, The heart, and influenza are few posted.

MyPlate for Food Pyramid
Need help creating a diet for the little eater? This page provides ideas, plans, and activities to get even the most pickiest eater on the road to healthy eating.
Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs 3rd Edition

School Nutrition and Children
In this book the authors examine ways to improve the school nutrition safety and the school food supply. Federal nutrition programs are intended to provide children with healthful food to eat at school. During the last reauthorization of the Child Nutrition and National School Lunch Act, the authors required meals to be in line with the Department of Health and Human Services'dietary guidelines.
Caring for Our Children : National Health and Safety Performance Standards: Guidelines for Early Care and Early Education Programs
The new 3rd edition contains updated guidelines on the development and evaluation of the health and safety of children in all types of early care and education settings - centers and family child care homes.

Secondary Education

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.

OpenLearn
OpenLearn is a source of over 600 free online courses from The Open University.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
UC Irvine Open Courses
Help in preparing for the CSET subject tests. Also offered is a ”four-part webinar series specifically designed to help participants better understand and more effectively support gifted students both at home and in the classroom.”

Edutopia: Education Video Library
Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.
PBS Learning Media
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents.

Special Education

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
These open textbooks cover various topics in education, including classroom management and supervision, contemporary issues in education, and special needs education. The list of books is comprehensive; it’s best to skim through the list to find specific-interest books.
Signing Savvy
Signing Savvy is a sign language dictionary containing several thousand high resolution videos of American Sign Language (ASL) signs, fingerspelled words, and other common signs.
Comprehensive Individualized Curriculum and Instructional Design: Curriculum and Instruction for Students with Developmental Disabilities/Autism Spectrum Disorders
This open textbook addresses the population of individuals with disabilities that experience complex lifelong needs across multiple areas in their lives. Drs. Sennott and Loman drafted this book (along with the help from some friends) with the hope of providing pertinent, practical, and current resources to future special educators who plan to serve individuals with complex disabilities.
Supporting Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities and Mental Illness
This multidisciplinary resource develops topics of interest to all those who care about and for individuals with co-occurring intellectual disabilities and mental illness.
Special Education: A Beginner's Guide to Serving All Students

Early Education and Care: Core Competencies
From the University of Massachusetts, this course is designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
First Year Teacher Program
The 10 modules include video segments featuring teachers using effective strategies and techniques in the classroom on subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
OpenLearn
OpenLearn is a source of over 600 free online courses from The Open University.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
This is an online college course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.

PBS Learning Media
The PBS Digital Learning Library is a public media system-wide repository of digital media learning objects, including videos, images, podcasts and documents.
Edutopia: Education Video Library
Videos about K-12 teaching methods and strategies from the George Lucas Educational Foundation.

To Login:

Borrower ID=Student ID (PID for Employees)
PIN=MMDD (Month and Day of Birth for All)

TESOL

Oral Communication, 2nd ed. (2025)
This book is an essential instructional tool for developing oral communication skills in academic settings, specifically designed for international graduate students, teaching assistants, postdoctoral researchers, and those preparing to enter academia. The second edition introduces dedicated chapters on developing listening, speaking, and pronunciation. Through its wide array of interactive online activities, suitable for both classroom teaching and individual practice, learners can actively develop the skills needed for success in English-speaking academic environments.

ESL/TESOL - Open Access Journals

The publishers have made these journals free and accessible to everyone. Search the Directory of Open Access Journals for additional open access periodicals.

Social-Emotional Learning in the English Language Classroom : Fostering Growth, Self-Care, and Independence (2021)
Teachers often feel unprepared to incorporate or address social and emotional learning in their classrooms and do not know the how-to of SEL (Brackett, 2019). This book serves as a practical, concise, and easy-to-follow reference that English language teachers in K-12 and adult education and English language teacher educators can use in their classrooms. It is one of the limited emerging SEL resources available that is tailored to the English language teaching field and contributes to filling the existing gap of SEL in English language education. Teachers will be equipped with the necessary knowledge and skills to practice self-care and be confident in implementing SEL in their learning spaces to support and benefit their learners.
Dispelling Misconceptions About English Language Learners : Research-Based Ways to Improve Instruction (2020)
1. Just who is an English language learner? -- 2. Supporting home language maintenance -- 3. Promoting family engagement -- 4. You can teach newcomers : foundational principles for instruction -- 5. You can teach newcomers : ideas for instruction across the content areas -- 6. ELLs hiding in plain sight -- 7. Acknowledging knowledge -- 8. Meeting realistic yet rigorous standards -- 9. High expectations versus hurried expectations -- 10. When ELLs struggle special teaching or special education?.
Co-Teaching for English Learners: Evidence-based Practices and Research-Informed Outcomes (2020)
"This edited volume examines co-teaching and integrated service delivery for English learners (ELs). Through research and documentary accounts, it explores the collaborative instructional cycle-co-planning, co-instruction, co-assessment, and reflection practices-of co-taught programs for ELs. This volume presents current, classroom-based, practitioner-oriented research related to all aspects of co-taught programs for ELs and offers authentic evidence and practical recommendations that yield positive outcomes for this student population
Language and Literacy Development: English Learners with Communication Disorders, From Theory to Application, Second Edition (2020)
This text emphasizes collaboration between speech-language pathology (SLP) and English for speakers of other languages (ESOL) professionals. More importantly, it shows how to apply the knowledge and implement the mechanics and practicalities of assessment, intervention, and progress monitoring. New to the Second Edition Updated EL and EL with communication disorders demographics and legislation. An innovative assessment/intervention/monitoring (AIM) framework geared toward language proficiency development and academic content expansion of ELs with communication disorders. Research-based and proficiency-level appropriate pedagogical interventions and recommendations for implementing effective assessments that support English learners with communication disorders in their language and content growth. Updated information on commonly used assessments used by speech-language pathologists to identify/determine disability.
Literacy foundations for English learners : a comprehensive guide to evidence-based instruction (2020)
Teaching literacy skills to English learners / Elsa Cárdenas-Hagan -- Language and literacy development / Elsa Cárdenas-Hagan -- Components of literacy instruction for English learners / Eric Tridas -- Phonological awareness development among English learners / Virginia Lovelace-Gonzalez -- Phonics development among English learners / Kenneth Nieser and Elsa Cárdenas-Hagan -- Reading fluency among English learners / Coleen D. Carlson -- Vocabulary instruction among English learners / Sharolyn D. Pollard-Durodola -- Reading comprehension among English learners / Colleen K. Reutebuch -- Spelling development among English learners / Elsa Cárdenas-Hagan and Alessandra Rico -- Written development among English learners / Linda O. Cavazos and Elsa Cárdenas-Hagan -- Appendix. Using technology to adapt and enhance instruction for English learners / Elaine Cheesman.
The 6 principles for exemplary teaching of English learners. Academic and other specific purposes (2020)
his newest volume in the groundbreaking 6 Principles series focuses on English for specific purposes (ESP) and how it plays a critical role internationally as adult learners acquire English for study, work, and life. The field of ESP has come into increasing prominence as globalization has motivated adult learners to advance their English language skills.
Intentional Co-Teaching for Multilingual Learners : An Equitable Approach to Integrating Content and Language (2024)
Intentional co-teaching for multilingual learners -- Setting up structures for co-teaching -- Supporting staff with co-teaching -- Planning for integrated language and content -- Sharing the classroom -- Assessing and communicating -- Building relationships and reflecting -- Instructing for integrated language and content -- Growing and evaluating co-teachers -- Growing and evaluating the program -- Appendix: Rubric for analyzing co-teaching practices.
Global TESOL for the 21st Century : Teaching English in a Changing World (2020)
This book explores the impact of the spread of English on language teaching and learning. It provides a framework for change in English language teaching to better reflect global realities and current research. The authors examine the pedagogical implications of the global spread of English, drawing on world Englishes, English as a lingua franca, and global Englishes research. The book proposes key innovations for teaching English as an international language, and outlines key areas for future classroom-based research. The book is essential reading for postgraduate researchers, teachers and teacher trainers in TESOL and second language education programmes.
(Re)defining success in language learning : positioning, participation and young emergent bilinguals at school (2020)
Frontmatter -- Contents -- Figures, Tables and Images -- Acknowledgements -- Transcription Symbols -- Introduction -- 1 Participation in Interaction and Language Learning: A Layered Approach -- 2 Language and Language Learning as Social Practice -- 3 From Bhutan, Uzbekistan and Berkeley to River City: Arrival Stories -- 4 Adults as Context-makers: Parents' and Teachers' Beliefs about Language -- 5 The Social Field of Classroom Three: Policies and Practices -- 6 Becoming Students, Becoming Speakers: Positioning in the Social Field of Classroom Three -- 7 Who Learned What? Three Perspectives on Success in Language Learning -- 8 Beyond English: Multimodal, Multilingual Repertoires at Work -- 9 The Edge Has its Advantages: Participation and Learning on the Periphery -- 10 Concluding Thoughts: Success Stories -- Appendix 1: Details about Conflicts that Brought Classroom Three Families to the United States and their Experiences with Resettlement -- Appendix 2: Detailed Methodological Information -- References -- Index
Language Classroom Assessment, 2nd ed. (2023)
In the first edition of this book, Dr. Liying Cheng provided an easy-to-follow guide to understanding language classroom assessment, from giving an overview of different forms of assessment to outlining assessment methods and procedures. The second edition of Language Classroom Assessment further explores language assessment, expanding on how to answer the key question:'Have my students learned?'This edition has also been updated with the newest changes in language assessment research and highlights the interaction of teaching, learning, and assessment. This essential guide provides English language teachers with the knowledge to reflect on their own assessment practices. Dr. Cheng helps you understand and reflect on essential topics, such as: - The difference between testing and assessment - The four major aspects of language classroom assessment - Which assessment tools can support student learning - The purposes, methods, and procedures for effective assessment - How to use assessment to motivate student learning - Demystify the process of assessing language. Whether you are a new or seasoned teacher, Language Classroom Assessment, Second Edition is an essential resource for anyone who wants to improve their assessment practices. About the English Language Teacher Development Series As the English language teaching field continually reinvents itself, the pressure is intense for language teachers to update their knowledge. The English Language Teacher Development Series is a set of short resource books written in an accessible manner for all types of teachers of English. The series offers a theory-to-practice approach, a variety of practical methods, and time for reflections that allow teachers to interact with the materials presented. The books can be used in preservice settings, in-service courses, and by individuals looking for ways to refresh their practice.

The following are Unlimited Use eBooks we can buy for use, but we do not have them in the catalog yet so you can only read the description and Table of Contents.

Humanizing Pedagogies with Multilingual Learners : Transforming Teaching in the Content Areas (2026)
Help ensure your multilingual students have access to equitable, humanizing teaching and learning in all the content areas. This comprehensive resource bridges theory into practice with applicable, easy-to-understand instructional methods for K-12 teachers who may not have a background in TESOL, ESL, or bilingual education. Each chapter uses a three-part learning cycle to help you translate theory into practice: Explore, Make It Work, and Share. In Explore, the authors provide research, ideas, and resources to support your work with multilingual students. In Make It Work, you are given options to take the ideas from Explore and apply them to your practice. And in Share, you're encouraged to think about the ways to share your knowledge in informal or formal professional learning spaces. As you work through the learning cycle for each module, you'll gain important takeaways on topics such as the larger social context, a positive orientation to your students, humanizing assessments, grouping students, uncovering and addressing language demand, developing conceptual understandings, developing literacy, and fostering authentic talk. The book's hands-on approach to pedagogy will leave you feeling ready and empowered to reach each of your multilingual students more effectively as you strive for equity and justice in the classroom and beyond.
Fostering Language Assessment Literacy : Materials, Methods, and Emerging Issues (2026)
This collection showcases language assessment literacy, understood as the knowledge, skills, and principles necessary to engage in assessment activities, by problematizing different approaches to its development and offering insights for language teachers and other stakeholders.The volume builds on existing research in LAL, which has thus far focused on defining its scope and charting how stakeholder dependent its development can be, to provide readers with ideas to bridge the gap between LAL research and practice. The book is organized around three parts, each structured around practical applications, from designing materials to workshops and courses to the latest issues in LAL pedagogies, particularly around emergent technologies and their implications for teachers. Case studies from around the world are featured to show these dynamics at work across diverse educational and geographic contexts. In centering the discussion on pedagogical approaches, the collection seeks to advance debates and further research and equip teachers and policymakers with further resources to enhance LAL, both in their own classrooms and as an area of inquiry.This book will be of interest to scholars and stakeholders in language assessment and testing, language education, TESOL, and applied linguistics.
Teaching Writing to English Language Learners in the Elementary Classroom : Research-Based Approaches and Techniques (2026)
This book focuses on research-informed approaches and techniques for teaching writing to elementary English Language Learners (ELLs). The book highlights strategies for enriching writing literacy education for elementary ELLs. With contributions from prominent scholars in the field of elementary ELL writing from around the world, the chapters in this book focus on a wide range of topics, including curriculum design, metalanguage and translanguaging, integrating playfulness into a genre-based approach to writing instruction, metacognitive instruction, teaching the genre of school, identity texts, multimodal writing, using mentor texts, teaching science writing, and interrogating raciolinguistic ideologies in assessment practices. Together they highlight both the challenges and possibilities of writing instruction for elementary ELLs in diverse educational contexts.This is a foundational text for students in TESOL programs focusing on writing instruction for ELLs, as well as for pre- and in-service teachers who want to upgrade their teaching abilities and knowledge bases.
Applying a Functional Approach to Language Development in Teaching the Content Areas to Multilingual Learners in K-12 Classrooms (2025)
In the evolving field of Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), there is a growing need for practical guidance on applying a functional approach to language development for multilingual learners (MLs) in K-12 classrooms. Applying a Functional Approach to Language Development addresses that need by focusing on the content areas of English language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies. This book offers innovative strategies for engaging students in exploring meaning in texts through classroom discussions about language. With the introduction of the new WIDA English Language Development Standards Framework (2020), the emphasis on a functional approach has become even more critical. The WIDA Standards highlight the importance of creating culturally and linguistically sustaining learning environments where MLs can thrive. The book underscores a commitment to equity for MLs by leveraging their linguistic and cultural assets, integrating content and language in collaborative settings, and making language visible as a tool for communication and a means to enact roles, through a functional approach. Grounded in systemic functional linguistics (SFL), this approach provides a metalanguage for discussing the meanings behind authors'choices and helps teachers identify language patterns to support MLs in understanding how language works. This methodology is applicable in any content classroom and is particularly vital for MLs as they expand their linguistic repertoires to engage effectively with educational content. The book is divided into two sections. Section 1 presents applied chapters that utilize a language-based approach to content instruction to design unit plans for MLs across K-12 grades. Section 2 showcases the implementation of a functional approach in teacher education programs across various states, offering valuable insights for educators. This comprehensive book aims to empower teachers with the tools and knowledge to plan effective instruction for MLs, fostering an inclusive and dynamic learning environment.
Building Classroom Culture Through Translanguaging: Theory to Practice (2025)
Building Classroom Culture Through Translanguaging: Theory to Practice is a comprehensive guide for educators who want to create inclusive and effective classrooms that celebrate the diverse linguistic and cultural backgrounds of their students. It introduces the concept of translanguaging, a pedagogy that moves beyond traditional methods by encouraging students to use their full linguistic repertoire. Educators learn how to leverage students'existing languages to enhance learning and comprehension, develop strategies to create a more inclusive classroom, implement translanguaging strategies, and foster an educational environment that reflects the linguistic and cultural diversity inherent in today's globalized society. By presenting real-world examples, pedagogical tools, and numerous hands-on activities,'Building Classroom Culture Through Translanguaging'empowers preservice teachers, in-service teachers, and teacher trainers to make informed choices, fostering a community of reflective practitioners committed to enhancing the quality of education for all.
The Twenty Most Effective Language Teaching Techniques (2024)
From leading scholar and applied linguist Paul Nation, this book describes and explains the 20 most effective and efficient language teaching techniques and why they work. Backed by decades of research and expertise, Nation examines the principles of learning connected to these techniques, as well as the factors affecting their choice and usage.These techniques are organized around the four skills of listening, speaking, reading, and writing. For each skill, there is an opportunity for learning through meaning-focused use, an opportunity for learning through deliberate study, and a window for fluency development through working with easy material. Each technique is described and analyzed to demonstrate its learning goals and the principles of learning in use.In demonstrating key techniques and methods for language learning, this book is particularly useful for pre-service teachers and students in applied linguistics, TESOL, and language teaching. Each chapter also has a substantial list of research topics for projects or theses
The 6 Principles for Exemplary Teaching of English Learners: Grades K-12, Second Edition (2024)
The 6 Principles for Exemplary Teaching of English Learners® is a core set of principles for English language teaching and learning. The 6 Principles are targets of excellence that provide teachers with the knowledge to make informed decisions to improve instruction and assessment. This second edition of The 6 Principles for Exemplary Teaching of English Learners: Grades K-12 reflects evolving knowledge about second language acquisition and pedagogy for multilingual learners of English. It also addresses some shifts in educational policies and includes updated the research, new vignettes from teachers around the world, and a new chapter to showcase the implementation of the 6 Principles in different contexts. There is an enhanced focus on student assets and culturally responsive teaching, technology, literacy development, and social-emotional learning.,
Teaching English Through ELA, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies : A Content-Based Language Teaching Approach (2022)
Accessible and hands-on, this textbook provides a comprehensive introduction to teaching language through content, an approach known as Content-Based Language Teaching (CBLT). A content-based, language-focused approach to teaching in the disciplines is essential to serving the language and disciplinary needs of English learners (ELs) in the classroom. Guided by learning standards and informed by research, this book demonstrates how content materials in the English Language Arts (ELA), Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies can be harnessed to develop the English language proficiency of ELs as well as advance their disciplinary knowledge and skills. Using content materials in ELA, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies as a starting point, this textbook illustrates how to teach English as an additional language effectively by integrating language instruction with disciplinary teaching. It showcases numerous learning and instructional activities, complete with targeted language exemplified in sentential and discourse contexts, direct instruction, teacher modeling, guided and individual practices, and assessments, which are further backed up by detailed discussions of their goals, rationales, and implementation. This textbook also features a discussion of differentiation to address the varied needs of students. To further assist readers in determining how to incorporate language instruction, Peng identifies extensive possibilities for language teaching that are based on the same content materials and beyond those targeted by sample learning activities. Each chapter ends with three types of exercises—multiple-choice questions, open-ended discussion questions, and problems of application—to bolster understanding, promote reflection, and encourage application. Complementing the book are additional online resources, including ready-to-use PowerPoints, which are available on the book's webpage at Routledge.com/9780367521134.Covering key issues such as characteristics of effective language instruction, differentiation, and the challenges associated with CBLT, this is an essential text in TESOL methods and content-area language teaching, as well as an invaluable resource for pre-service and in-service ESL/EFL teachers and content-area teachers who are interested in furthering their students'language and literacy development.

Education: Open Educational Resources

Open Education Textbooks

Assessment

Child Development

Educational Psychology

Elementary Education

Kinesiology

Nutrition

Secondary Education

Special Education

TESOL