Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Brackett Library Mueller Campus: Articles

Use this guide to find quick links and resources at the Brackett Library, a joint use library with Indian River State College and Indian River County.

About IRSC's Online Databases

The College provides access to over 100 online databases. IRSC databases contain thousands of articles from newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals as well as electronic books, artwork, and images.

Students have instant access to these databases via the Web. The public can use the College databases by visiting any IRSC library.

Students click here to LOG IN!

IRSC Libraries Databases

An online database is a a collection of information that can be easily searched. IRSC Libraries provides access to subscription databases to IRSC students. These databases contain scholarly journal articles, eBooks, eAudiobooks, newspaper and magazine articles, and videos. Using a database is often the best way to find articles for your research. Any student enrolled at IRSC has access to all IRSC databases.

Why use a database?

  • It may be a requirement of your assignment.
  • Database content is much more reliable than what you might find on the Web.
  • Journal articles are instantly accessible and searchable in online databases.
  • Databases are the best places to find scholarly articles at no charge to you.

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites. You must log in to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also view the databases recommended by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases. 

General Databases

Keywords to use to find information about a profession include; career, job, skills, education, training, and employment.

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

Primary versus Secondary Sources

Primary sources:

provide direct or firsthand evidence of an event or person |  creative sources can be primary sources  historical documents |  legal documents statistics | interviews video recordings | audio recordings photographs correspondence including emails and letters

Secondary sources:

provide a summary, analysis, evaluation, or opinion about primary sources | journal articles |  literary criticism | books | films and documentaries

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal. 

MyPioneerPortal Login

How Do Public Patrons Login?

Public patrons or non-students can only access IRSC databases by visiting a campus library. Please ask a library staff member to log you in.