Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2019 Novel Coronavirus/COVID-19

IRSC Coronavirus Updates

Visit IRSC's page for the latest updates in response to the pandemic. IRSC is offering online, hybrid, and in-person courses and most in-person services for Fall 2021.

For advising, registration, or financial aid assistance, enter the virtual help desk for your campus on this page.

IRSC Libraries During the Pandemic

Library Hours

All libraries are currently open. See Fall 2021 library hours by location below. Please note that masks are strongly recommended inside all libraries for your safety and the safety of others.

 

Fall 2021 Library Hours by Campus

  • Miley Library, Massey Campus
    • Monday-Thursday, 8:00 a.m.—7:00 p.m. 
    • Friday 8:00 a.m.—5:00 p.m. 
  • Pruitt Campus Library
    • Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m.—5:00 p.m.
  • Brackett Library, Mueller Campus
    • Monday, Thursday, Friday: 9:00 a.m.—5:00 p.m.
    • Tuesday, Wednesday: 12:00 p.m.—8:00 p.m.
  • Morgade Library, Chastain Campus
    • Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday: 10:00 a.m. — 5:30 p.m.
    • Wednesday: 12:00—8 p.m.

 

Our live chat reference service is available for immediate library assistance for students. Click on the yellow Chat with an IRSC Librarian widget on the left side of any page to be immediately connected with a librarian.

 

Students and employees may also email library@irsc.edu or text 772-410-5662 for immediate assistance. A list of some of our current remote services follows.


Reference Resources

Connect with a Librarian

Students, faculty, and staff can schedule a remote session with a librarian by filling out this form. A librarian will contact you during regular business hours to schedule an appointment. 

 

IRSC Librarians can also connect with students (and faculty!) in a number of different ways during business hours:


Online Library Services 

 

Students, faculty, and staff can access all online resources by logging in with your MyPioneerPortal credentials.

 

Can’t log in? Email library@irsc.edu and a librarian will reset your account. 

 

eBooks

The library provides access to over 160,000 eBooks on topics your students are studying this semester and can be used to supplement course readings or for research-based projects. You can see the collection under the Reading for Fun subject in our database list.eBook Collection (EBSCO) is our largest collection, and great for browsing. 

 

eJournal and Newspaper Collections

The library provides digital access to thousands of academic journal articles, magazines, and newspapers. Journal databases are organized by subject and can be limited by date range, subject, and geography in most collections Check out the Databases by Subject list to search in your discipline. IRSC Libraries also provide current access to publications like the Chronicle of Higher Education, New York Times, and a number of Florida Newspapers, so you can stay up-to-date with the news without subscription fees. 

 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand provides access to thousands of videos that you can embed in your course shell to supplement course materials. Check out the Faculty Resources page for help with adding videos to Blackboard, or contact a librarian at library@irsc.edu

 

Testing Resources

Testing and Education Reference Center can help students prepare for upcoming exams like the NCLEX, ACT, and SAT, among many others. Basic skills resources can also help students practice math, reading, and writing skills at their own pace. Check out the Testing LibGuide for more resources. 

 

Interlibrary Loan:

Library staff will continue to fill requests for journal articles through interlibrary loan whenever possible, but other school closures may impact the delivery of materials. 

 

Book Checkouts: 

All loan items from IRSC Libraries will have their due dates extended until further notice, with no late fees. 

 


Instruction 

 

Virtual Sessions

Librarians are happy to host virtual instruction sessions during your regular scheduled class time. These instruction sessions can help students navigate library resources, use any citation style, and identity and evaluate resources. If you’d like to schedule a new virtual session for your students, fill out the instruction request form and a librarian will connect with you. 

 

Embedded Librarians

Through our embedded librarian program you can have a real, live librarian available to your students within your course shell. Librarians can provide research assistance within Blackboard through course messages, discussion boards, and one-on-one student consultations. Email library@irsc.edu to arrange for an embedded librarian. 

 


On-Demand Resources

Instruction Videos

The library has a number of on-demand videos that you can add to your classes. The full list of videos is available here. Some are included below but reach out to the library at library@irsc.edu if you would like us to make a specific video for your students. 

 

Subject Guides

The Librarians have created a number of Subject Guides for your classes. Students can use the guides to find database suggestions, recommended websites, and many more resources. 

 

Citation Guides

Students can find information about citing in APA, MLA, CSE, and Chicago styles by visiting the LibGuide devoted to each. APA and MLA papers may be submitted for review by an IRSC librarian.

 

Questions regarding citing appropriately in any writing style may also be directed to the IRSC Librarian team at library@irsc.edu