LibGuides: HUS4462 Benfield: Articles

Suggested Databases

Suggested databases for journal articles on addiction issues.

EBSCO APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Delve into the science of psychology and behavior with APA PsycArticles, the database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search is a monthly indexing service. It was first published in 1997 by EBSCO Publishing in Ipswich, Massachusetts. Its academic focus is international universities, covering social science, education, psychology, and other subjects.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
EBSCO CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive full-text database for nursing and allied health research. It offers full-text access to a substantial portion of the most frequently cited journals in the CINAHL index, surpassing other databases. Providing 1,815 active full-text journals valued at $478,475.88, this database covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, nursing instructional videos, and more.

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites. You must log in to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also view the databases recommended by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.

Florida Research

NewsBank: Florida News This link opens in a new window
Explore Florida history through local news, events and people with the Florida News Sources including the Stuart News. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online.

Florida Legislature Search
This free database provides access to all of Florida's legislation. Try searching for your agency or program's name in the box under "exact phrase."
Florida Fiscal Portal
The Florida Fiscal Portal provides access to many public records related to state fiscal business. Try searching for your agency or program and skimming through the documents for its name. Hint: use "CRTL+F" to find words in a document.
IRSC Databases by Subject
This is a list of the over 100 IRSC Library databases.

National Research

NewsBank: America’s News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including the Stuart News Collection.