Skip to main content

LIT1000 Glover Jon Mueller: Articles

A research guide for Dr. Glover's LIT1000 students at the Mueller Campus.

Suggested Databases

Try these online databases to find literary criticisms, peer-reviewed articles, and other scholarly information about your author and novel.

Remember to choose FULL TEXT, if available.

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

Primary versus Secondary Sources

Primary sources:

provide direct or firsthand evidence of an event or person |  creative sources can be primary sources  historical documents |  legal documents statistics | interviews video recordings | audio recordings photographs correspondence including emails and letters

Secondary sources:

provide a summary, analysis, evaluation, or opinion about primary sources | journal articles |  literary criticism | books | films and documentaries

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article

How can you tell if a source is a scholarly article? Think back to RADAR.

Visit this page to see a diagram of a typical scholarly article. The authors' names, the publication date, the journal title, and the references should be clearly listed. You can check to see more information on any journal to see if the articles published in it have gone through the peer review process.

Rationale The article was created for the purpose of informing others.
Authority The author is an authority on the subject of the article, typically an English/Literature professor at a university.
Date The date will be clearly listed on the detailed record and on the full text of the article itself.
Accuracy Scholarly articles have been peer-reviewed for accuracy.
Relevance

Scholarly articles are intended for use by students and faculty. Choose articles which relate to your topic.

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)

 

 

 

How to Log in to Databases

Search Tips

Truncation  Add an asterisk (*) to a root word to expand your search. For example, searching with the term femin* will result in articles containing the keywords feminist, feminism, feminine.

Limiting   Limit your results by searching for full text, peer reviewed, date, and other limiters

 

Literary Criticism vs. Book Reviews

You are probably familiar with book reviews. Book reviews are usually a small paragraph in a newspaper or magazine that comments on a book. Book reviews are written for everyone, click here to see one from The New York Times.

Literary criticism is a longer, in-depth analysis about an author, a literary work, or even a single character, theme, or occurence in a literary work. When searching for research to write a paper in a college level literature class, you NEED to use literary criticism, click here to see an example from the Journal of International Social Research.

The databases will offer both. Make sure you can tell the difference.