Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

Federal Documents: Federal Web Portals and Databases

Open Access

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.

DATA.GOV The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.

ERIC Education Resources Information Center is an online library of education research and information.

FedWorld.gov is a gateway to government information designed to serve as the online locator service for a comprehensive inventory of information disseminated by the Federal Government. This service assisted agencies and the public in electronically locating Federal Government information, both information housed within the NTIS repository and outside of NTIS.

GPO’s Federal  Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official  publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys,  you are able to search for documents and publications, browse for documents and publications, access metadata about documents and publications, and download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats. The GPO provides video tutorials on the use of FDsys.

PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine® that: It offers free access to MEDLINE®, the NLM® database of indexed citations and abstracts to medical, nursing, dental, veterinary, health care, and preclinical sciences journal articles. Includes additional selected life sciences journals not in MEDLINE.

Science.gov offers more than databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.

USA.gov is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give individuals a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.

Library Databases

Index/Catalog Access to Citations

Agency Subscriptions

For Kids

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids provide learning tools for K-12 students, parents, and teachers. These resources will teach how the government works, the use of the primary source materials of GPO Access, and how one can use GPO Access to carry out civic responsibilities. Ben's Guide provides locator services to U.S. Government Web sites developed for kids.