Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physical Therapy: Books

A research guide for IRSC's Physical Therapist Assistant students and information for clinical faculty for the PTA program on how to access the libraries' resources.

Check Out Policy for Miley Library

Students

  • Books: 3 weeks (renew twice)
  • Reserve Books: 2 days (no renewal)
  • Check-out five books at a time

Community

  • Books: 3 weeks (renew twice)
  • Reserve Books: 2 days (no renewal)
  • Check-out three books at a time

Faculty

  • Books: Semester-long

Request an Item

IRSC can borrow many different titles from other libraries. If you have a specific title you want, you can search for it using the Florida State Universal Catalog search If you find the title there, click on the UBorrow icon to request the book from another college. If you are looking for a specific article or book not found in the catalog, use the Request an Item form below to borrow the material from another library.

The Physical Therapy Reserve Collection

The Miley Library keeps a core collection of essential physical therapy books on reserve just for you. These books are chosen by PT instructors and librarians for quick access to crucial clinical information. As such, they cannot be checked out so they will always be there when you need them. They are located on the first floor.

Search for Books

Use River Search                 River Search @ IRSC Libraries            to locate books, magazines, journals, videos, newspapers, and images at the IRSC Libraries.

Privacy and Use Policy Website and resources managed by the Florida Virtual Campus | This Site Uses Google Analytics (Google Privacy Policy)

Find eBooks at IRSC

To access IRSC Libraries eBook collections, start at https://irsc.libguides.com

Click Databases by Subject

Click Reading for Fun in the list of subjects

Reading for Fun on the Subjects list

Choose an eBook collection to browse or search. The largest collections are eBook Collection (EBSCO), Audiobook Collection (EBSCO), and Libby (eBooks).

Log in with your MyPioneerPortal email address and password

When to Use the Online Catalog

The catalog is your main access point to locate physical materials found within the library, as well as eBooks and eAudiobooks. Print books, eBooks, print journals, DVDs, audiobooks, and government publications can all be found by conducting a keyword, author, title, or subject search in the catalog. You may also find Internet resources in the catalog. Click here to access IRSC's online library catalog

The catalog search will look for words in the title, abstract, major subject headings, and (sometimes) tables of content. When searching the catalog, it is important to remember that you are not searching the full text of these items. For this reason, you will get a much smaller, but more precise, return on a search than you would in a database or Internet search. If you have a very narrow search term, you will need to use broader terms to find materials on the subject.