Skip to main content

eBooks as Textbooks at IRSC: IRSC Libraries eBooks

eBooks from IRSC Libraries

IRSC Libraries eBooks

eBooks at IRSC Libraries

IRSC Libraries subscribes to eleven different eBook collections you can access by logging in to the IRSC Libraries databases and clicking to expand the category Digital Books. Instructions for how to use eBook Collection (EBSCO) and RBDigital Audiobooks and Ebooks are included on this LibGuide.

Find eBooks at IRSC

To get to the databases, start at irsc.libguides.com

Click Databases by Subject in the top right.

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (for employees it is your PID).

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthday (MMDD).

Click the plus sign next to Digital Audiobooks or Digital Books to see the collections available.

Choose the type of media and the database you would like to search. 

Digital Books

RB Digital eBooks

After logging in to the IRSC databases, click on RBDigital Audiobooks and Ebooks (RBdigital) under Digital Books.

Click the menu in the top left. Click Books. Click eBooks. Browse the books. Click on a book. If you see a Checkout button it is currently available. If you see a Hold button you can add yourself to the waiting list. Sign in with your RB Digital account. If you have checked the title out, a download will start. Open the download in Adobe Digital Editions.

RB Digital's Android and Apple apps allow users to search, download, and read books directly from their mobile devices. 

eBook Collection (EBSCO)

After logging in to the IRSC databases, click on eBook Collection (EBSCO) under Digital Books.

Search for eBooks by author, title, subject, or keyword.

You can read the eBooks in the browser.

In the detailed record for an eBook you can learn about publisher permissions like the ability to print or save pages or copy/paste from an eBook. You can also see the concurrent user level which tells you how many people can view the eBook at the same time.

To read the eBook offline on your computer, you will need to download Adobe Digital Editions and authorize it with your Adobe ID. If you do not have an Adobe ID you can create one. Once Adobe Digital Editions is downloaded and authorized, checkout an eBook and download it to read it in the Adobe Digital Editions program rather than the browser.

Instructions for Downloading EBSCO eBooks (College Library eBooks)

Adobe Digital Editions is free software required for reading EBSCO and RBDigital eBooks offline. There is also an Adobe Digital Editions app you can use to read EBSCO eBooks on a smart phone.

Get more help from the EBSCOhost website, click here.

Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions is free software required for reading EBSCO and RBDigital eBooks offline.