LIS2004: LIS 2004: Introduction to Internet Research

LIS 2004 Introduction to Internet Research is a one-credit hour online course. The course focuses on methods of accessing information resources available through the Internet. Students will learn how to design effective search strategies, retrieve, evaluate, and cite Internet resources.

• Lesson 1 -- Internet Communication
  Introduces Internet communication tools, including electronic mail and discussion groups such as mailing lists, groups, chat, and web conferencing. Discusses basic rules of netiquette, which define appropriate behavior for Internet communication.

• Lesson 2 -- Research Strategies
  Covers selecting a topic and planning a research strategy. Includes an introduction to keyword and Boolean search techniques which may be used with many Internet search tools and with most electronic library databases and reference tools.

• Lesson 3 -- Web Search Engines
  Provides tips and strategies for using Web search engines and meta-search engines effectively and efficiently.

• Lesson 4 -- Other Web Tools 
  Discusses the difference between search engines and directories, explains metasites and covers file format and multimedia searching.

• Lesson 5 -- Library Databases 
  An increasing number of information resources are available via the Internet only to libraries or organizations who subscribe for a fee. Introduces several subscription-based resources available via your community college library.

• Lesson 6 -- Evaluating Internet Resources
  Explains how to evaluate Internet resources for usefulness and reliability.

• Lesson 7 --Documenting Internet Resources
  Explains and provides examples for documenting Internet and online subscription-based resources using the MLA and APA citation formats.

• The Glossary provides definitions of terminology used in this course.

• Course requirements include three assignments and a Course Project.