Skip to main content

ENC1102 Mallonee Sarah Express: Home

A research guide for Dr. Mallonee's ENC1101 class at the main campus.

Welcome

Hello! Welcome to the LibGuide for Dr. Mallonee's ENC 1102 express course. Explore this LibGuide and the linked pages for resources on searching the databases and citing in MLA style. 

Selecting Keywords and Search Tips

The first step to performing good research within the IRSC databases is finding the right keywords for your searches. In this project, there are several different ways to structure your searches to return great results in our databases. 

First, select keywords from your topic. These keywords should be narrow enough to return good results, but should not be phrased as a sentence. Many databases also have more than one search box that you can use to separate your keywords. Try different combinations to get different results. You can also put "quotation marks" around specific phrases so that the database knows to search those terms together. 

Here are some examples of ways to create keywords if you're looking for information related to different themes in "Sweat" by Zora Neale Hurston

Zora Neale Hurston AND "domestic violence"

Harlem Renaissance AND gender

domestic violence AND African-American women

karma AND folklore AND Zora Neale Hurston

Zora Neale Hurston AND "Sweat" 

Remember, if you're not happy with your keywords or your results, try another database or change your keywords. 

Zora Neale Hurston Citations

Sample MLA Citation 

Hurston, Zora Neale. "Sweat." The Complete Stories. 1st ed. New York: Harper Collins, 1995. 73-85. Print. 

Databases for Literary Criticism

Library Resources for Readings

The library databases have a variety of resources on many of the authors and works that you will be reviewing in the class. These videos and resources can be used to provide context, in addition to the scholarly literature criticisms to the right of this list. 

Link to Zora Neale Hurston: Jump at the Sun

Zora Neale Hurston, trailblazing novelist and pioneering anthropologist, is responsible for establishing African-American vernacular as a valid voice in literature. With the rediscovery by the modern academic community of Their Eyes Were Watching God, Hurston became one of the first black women to enter the American literary canon. This definitive film biography portrays Hurston in all her complexity: gifted, flamboyant, controversial, and always fiercely original. The program intersperses insights from scholars and rare footage of the rural South (some of it shot by Hurston herself) with reenactments of a revealing 1943 radio interview—and examines her life both as a writer and as an ethnographer. (84 minutes)