Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Dr. Heffner's ENC1101: Home

Research Assistance

My name is Sara Johnson, and I am the embedded librarian for your course. The quickest way to reach me is typically by email: sjohnso2@irsc.edu. You can call or text ‪(772) 237-0107‬. 

If you think you might prefer more in-depth one-on-one assistance, please feel free to click here book a research appointment! I am happy to meet with you in person or virtually via Zoom. I am primarily based out of the Pruitt Campus, but I can also arrange to meet at the Massey Campus if that is more convenient. Just send me an email if you aren’t seeing a location/time that works for you and we can work something out!

Annotated Bibliography Information & Template

This template includes a space to add your topic and thesis statement as this is preferred for the annotated bibliography assignments in ENC courses taught at IRSC. Always follow your professor's instructions over any instructions on this LibGuide or inside the MLA Handbook.

Your professor may ask that you create an annotated bibliography in MLA style. An annotated bibliography is similar to the Works Cited page found at the end of a paper. The paper formatting is the same but instead of following a full research paper, the student will write a brief annotation for each source which will directly follow the source's Works Cited entry. The annotations contain descriptive or evaluative comments about your sources. Annotations should be short, typically no longer than one paragraph. Indent the annotation an inch from the start of the entry. Each citation should adhere to MLA guidelines. The title might be 'Annotated Bibliography' or 'Annotated List of Works Cited'.

Below is an example of an annotated bibliography in MLA style. You are welcome to use the template linked above to get you started with the correct formatting.

Updated MLA 9th Edition Annotated Bibliography Example

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal. 

MyPioneerPortal Login

Suggested Databases & Additional MLA Resources

MLA Paper Template

You can save a personal template in Microsoft Word (IRSC students, download Office for free, see a librarian if you need help). Above is a template you can use every time you need to set-up a research paper using MLA style format. Simply open the template and type your own information every time you need to write an MLA style paper. Microsoft Word will allow you to save personal templates. Once you have the template opened in Word

Click "Save as"

Give the file a name

Under "Save as type", select Word Template

Then when you open Word, you will be able to choose a template rather than a blank document. You might have to select Personal to find your template.

Using and Editing Citations from a Database

Skills Covered:

  • Understand how to copy and paste a citation from a database and verify that the citation is accurate.

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/OtgASc-qYcY

Avoiding Plagiarism

Skills Covered:

  • Identifying what constitutes plagiarism and how to avoid it.
  • Understanding the ethical concerns associated with plagiarism.

Additional Plagiarism Resources:

Link for Blackboard:

https://youtu.be/EVDjuYca3Hk