Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pharmacy Technician: Articles

About IRSC's Online Databases

The College provides access to over 100 online databases. IRSC databases contain thousands of full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers, as well as eBooks, art work and images.

Students have instant access to these databases via the Web. The public can use the College databases by visiting any IRSC library.

Students click here to LOGIN!

Free Open Access Databases

Open Access databases do not necessarily provide full-text access to all resources; however, they do provide another avenue to information. Check with the College librarians to learn how you, as a student, can obtain these resources in full-text format. Oftentimes, the librarians can obtain these articles through interlibrary loan, a service where libraries share copies of needed resources. We advise you not to pay for information that the librarians may be able to obtain at no cost.

Pharmacy Technician Database Highlights

In addition to the two drug-specific databases below, articles about medical topics covered in Pharmacy Technician classes may be accessed by searching one of the many medical databases available from the third link in the list. If you experience any difficulties, please do not hesitate to reach out to an IRSC librarian for assistance.

How to Log In to the IRSC Libraries' Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Kendra Auberry - Indian River State College
Contact:
500 N.W. California Blvd.
Port St. Lucie, FL 34986
772-336-6268
Website

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias,  dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many  people think they are websites. They are NOT  websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching  databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.