LibGuides: GEB4930 Selected Topics in Management Butler: Articles

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item.

Statistics & Economics

Gale Business: Demographics Now This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive web-based solution offering up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.

Database Login for Students

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID.

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

News & Trade

EBSCO Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.

Wall Street Journal

The Miley Library receives the Wall Street Journal in print everyday. You can access the full content of the Wall Street Journal through the Academic One File database, click below and log in to read the paper.

Journal Articles

Try these online databases to find scholarly articles. Remember to choose FULL TEXT when available. Click the Business subject to display the databases listed below.

Need SWOT? Just add the terms SWOT analysis to the name of the company you are researching to find them in Business Source Complete.

EBSCO Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Find full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profile, SWOT analyses, and more. REMEMBER to limit your results when searching for specific business related information.

Business and Economics eJournal Collection (Springer)
Springer provides full-text access in a variety of topics, including business and economics. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. Coverage varies by title. Content is updated daily.