Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literary Criticism: Part 2 of your Research Paper
This part of your research paper should comprise two and a half to three pages that reflects your response to literary criticism about your novel.
The literary criticisms should be articles from scholarly journals, preferably from the IRSC databases, or books in the College Reserves (Brackett Library). Identify specific points made by these authors that help support your thesis and/or the theme you have chosen to discuss in your paper.
Finding Literary Criticism Articles (online)
Use IRSC's online databases to find articles containing literary criticism. Suggested databases are:
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search is a monthly indexing service. It was first published in 1997 by EBSCO Publishing in Ipswich, Massachusetts. Its academic focus is international universities, covering social science, education, psychology, and other subjects.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Organized into a user-friendly portal experience, it merges Gale's authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Users can browse to find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
EBSCO Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus is the definitive literary database covering all genres and time periods. It includes thousands of full-text poems, short stories, synopses, critical essays, literary journals, reference books and author biographies, plus lesson plans and literary study guides. It gives students a complete foundation of literary reference works.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Offering up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 published novelists in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.
Salem Literature This link opens in a new window
These titles examine American and international literature, novelists, poets, and short stories, as well as how they relate to their plots and themes.
What is Literary Criticism?
Literary criticism is the evaluation, analysis, description, or
interpretation of literary works. Academic literary criticism is usually written by experts or scholars about a literary title or author. These works can be articles, collections of essays, or an entire book on a specific topic.
What's NOT Literary Criticism?
When you look for literary criticisms, AVOID:
- Plot summaries
- CliffNotes, SparkNotes, etc.
- Author biographies
- Brief book reviews
Finding Literary Criticism Books (print)
Print books containing scholarly articles and essays on authors and novels are located in the College Reserves collections in the IRSC libraries. Here are some examples of works that analyze the writings of some of your authors.
Writing Vietnam, Writing Life by
Call Number: RESERVE O'BRIEN 810.9358 HER
Read Conversation with Tim O'Brien, p.88.
Tim O'Brien: A Critical Companion by
Call Number: 813.54 SMI
Read Ch. 1 and 2 and The Things They Carried, p.97.
Michael Crichton: A Critical Companion by
Call Number: RESERVE CRICHTON 813.54 TRE