Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Resources

Policies and procedures for faulty and adjuncts needing library resources or instruction.

When to Use Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites. You must log in to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by IRSC students and employees. 

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The IRSC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also view the databases recommended by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases. 

Database Login for Employees

To log in to the databases, you will use your IRSC e-mail address and password.

Employee Database Login

 

Find Specific Journals

Did you know? You can search all the databases to see if we carry a specific journal title. From the River Search on the library homepage, select the three dots in the top menu to see more options and then select Journal Search to get to the journal search, here is the URL: https://irsc-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_IRSC:IRSC&lang=en 

Primo VE Journal Search

Type the Journal Name into the search box, then click Search. Find the correct journal title and click on the Database you want to use or search directly within the journal for your article title or keywords.. If the journal is available in one of the databases, the journal will have a list of database(s) where you access the journal along with the years represented in the database(s), see an example journal available from multiple databases and covering different years below.

Journal Search