Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC1101 Online Fall 2020: 3. Finding Your Sources

3. Finding Your Sources Collaborate Session

Link to virtual workshop

Workshop Presentation

Find eBooks at IRSC

To get to the databases, start at www.irsc.edu

Click Libraries on the bottom left

Click Find eResources (Articles)

Click Databases by Subject

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (for employees it is your PID).

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

eBook Collection EBSCO

Search for Books

Click to search the

IRSC Library Catalog

for physical materials found at the libraries.

Request an Item

IRSC can borrow many different titles from other libraries. If you have a specific title you want, you can search for it using the Florida State Universal Catalog search If you find the title there, click on the UBorrow icon to request the book from another college. If you are looking for a specific article or book not found in the catalog, use the Request an Item form below to borrow the material from another library.

How to Log in to Databases

Suggested Databases for Your Synthesis Essay

The database Opposing Viewpoints is required to use in Module 7.

Academic Search Complete and JSTOR are great, multidisciplinary databases you may want to try when looking for sources for other assignments.

Search for Articles using Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

To add the FIND TEXT @ IRSC link to your search results, click the bars (also called a hamburger icon)Google Scholar Advanced Options in the top left then click Settings. Next, click on Library Links. Type in Indian River State College and click the magnifying glass and then place a checkmark in the box next to the results and click Save. 

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)

 

 

 

Primary versus Secondary Sources

Primary sources:

provide direct or firsthand evidence of an event or person |  creative sources can be primary sources  historical documents |  legal documents statistics | interviews video recordings | audio recordings photographs correspondence including emails and letters

Secondary sources:

provide a summary, analysis, evaluation, or opinion about primary sources | journal articles |  literary criticism | books | films and documentaries

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

Search Tips

Truncation  Add an asterisk (*) to a root word to expand your search. For example, searching with the term femin* will result in articles containing the keywords feminist, feminism, feminine.

Limiting   Limit your results by searching for full text, peer reviewed, date, and other limiters