Skip to main content

eBooks as Textbooks at IRSC: IRSC Libraries eAudiobooks

eAudiobooks at IRSC Libraries

IRSC Libraries subscribes to two eBook collections/platforms you can access by logging in to the IRSC Libraries databases and clicking to expand the category Digital Audiobooks. Instructions for how to use Audiobook Collection (EBSCO) and RBDigital Audiobooks and Ebooks are included on this LibGuide.

Find eAudiobooks at IRSC

IRSC Libraries offers free eAudiobooks through RBdigital and EBSCO's Audiobook Collection. Audiobooks are a great option for auditory learners and commuters. Login to IRSC Libraries' databases and expand the subject called Digital Audiobooks.

To get to the databases, start at irsc.libguides.com

Click Databases by Subject in the top right.

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (for employees it is your PID).

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthday (MMDD).

Click the plus sign next to Digital Audiobooks to see the collections available.

Choose the type of media and the database you would like to search. 

Audiobook Collection EBSCO

From EBSCOhost's Audiobook Tutorial:

Downloading an Audiobook to the App

Once you have checked out an Audiobook, you can download it to the Audiobooks app on your Android or Apple device.

To download Audiobooks using the app:

  1. From the result list, click the Check Out link to check out the Audiobook.

  2. If you are not already signed in, sign into My EBSCOhost with your personal user ID and password.

    Note: If you do not have a user ID and password to check out Audiobooks, please see your institution's administrator to learn how to get one.

  3. Select a checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Check Out button.

    You are prompted to download and install the EBSCO Audiobooks App to your Apple or Android device.

  4. After installing the app on your device, open the app and log in with the My EBSCOhost user ID and password you used to check out the Audiobook on EBSCOhost. If your institution uses SSO authentication, click the Single Sign On link and enter the credentials provided by your institution.

  5. Your checked out Audiobook titles are displayed on the Library screen. Tap Download to download a title to your device or tap the cover image to view more information about it.

  6. You can choose to Download the title or Play a Sample of it prior to downloading it.

    Note: The Apple version of the Audiobooks app does not include the Play a Sample button at this time.

  7. After your title has begun to download, tap the Play button to begin listening to the Audiobook.

RBdigital eAudiobooks

The RB Digital database can be found under the subject heading, Digital Audiobooks, after you login to the databases.

RB Digital's Android and Apple apps allow users to search, download, and listen to books directly from their mobile devices.