LibGuides: CJL2500 and CJL3510: Courts Bradford: Home

Web Links

Florida Families Againist Mandatory Minimums
Public support for smarter, more effective, and more efficient sentencing is strong and growing stronger in Florida, and FAMM will continue to use that support to fight for sentencing reform in the Sunshine State.
The Heritage Foundation: Reconsidering Mandatory Minimum Sentences: The Arguments for and Against Potential Reforms
Mandatory minimum sentences are the product of good intentions, but good intentions do not always make good policy; good results are also necessary.
United States Sentencing Commission
The Commission, a bipartisan, independent agency located in the judicial branch of government, was created by Congress in 1984 to reduce sentencing disparities and promote transparency and proportionality in sentencing.
The Sentencing Project Website
Founded in 1986, The Sentencing Project works for a fair and effective U.S. criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing policy, addressing unjust racial disparities and practices, and advocating for alternatives to incarceration.
2011 Report to the Congress: Mandatory Minimums in the Federal Criminal Justice System
This report assesses the impact of mandatory minimum penalties on federal sentencing, particularly in light of the Supreme Court's decision in Booker v. United States, which rendered the federal sentencing guidelines advisory.
Playbook for Change? States Reconsider Mandatory Sentences
Decades of research and innovation, however, have shown us that sentencing
laws and corrections practices can do more than simply incapacitate offenders
until they “age out” of their most crime-prone years. We now have the ability
to create sentences that both punish and rehabilitate and use the occasion to
address problems that affect the individual and the community.

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal.

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver: Mandatory Minimums

eBooks Available at IRSC

Federal Mandatory Minimum Sentencing by Christophe Salaut
ISBN: 9781629485577
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Federal mandatory minimum sentencing statutes (mandatory minimums) demand that execution or incarceration follow criminal conviction. Among other things, they cover drug dealing, murdering federal officials, and using a gun to commit a federal crime. This book provides an overview of federal statutes and a discussion of some of the constitutional challenges they have faced.
The Real Cost of Prisons Comix by Lois Ahrens (Editor); Craig Gilmore (Preface by); Ruth Wilson Gilmore (Introduction by); Kevin Pyle (Illustrator); Sabrina Jones (Illustrator); Susan Willmarth (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781604860344
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
One out of every hundred adults in the U.S. is in prison. This book provides a crash course in what drives mass incarceration, the human and community costs, and how to stop the numbers from going even higher. This volume collects the three comic books published by the Real Cost of Prisons Project.

Suggested IRSC Databases

First, start your search by browsing books about sentencing in the IRSC eBook Collection. Then, check out some of these databases for articles about mandatory minimums and sentencing laws in the United States.

ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) has hundreds of criminal justice-specific journals. Try searching for "mandatory mimimums" in the general search.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broader database, try this collection as you start your research process. This database will contain more popular sources like magazine articles, news stories, and newspaper stories. Make sure to click on "full text" to limit your search to articles you can read immediately.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides unbiased coverage of a number of current event topics. Try searching for "mandatory minimums" in this database.

CJL2500 and CJL3510: Courts Bradford: Home

Scoresheet and Hypotheticals

Web Links

Database Login for Students

Last Week Tonight with John Oliver: Mandatory Minimums

eBooks Available at IRSC

Suggested IRSC Databases