Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CJL 2062 Bradford TCPSTC: Amendment Modification Project

Constitutional Amendment Modification Project Overview

For this assignment, you are being asked to modify an existing amendment to change the meaning of that amendment.
First, you will need to include your modified amendment.  The modified amendment should consist of the original amendment, with the changes notated.  

For example, if I am changing the Second Amendment, my first paragraph would be: 

A well-regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

If you were adding to the amendment to change the amendment, it might look like this: 

A well-regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed by neither the Federal nor the State governments.  

Do not put in two different versions of the amendment, just show the editing within the amendment.
The next paragraph will have your thesis.  To continue my example, my thesis for the first modification would be: 

The right of the people to keep and bear arms should be an individual right and not infringed by state regulation or position within a militia. 

You should also include your reasons why, and you will be able to use your research for this project to support your thesis.

Finally, you will have your resources.  You will be able to use the sources under the “Research Database” title to find sources that support your modification.  You are able to modify the amendment to change the meaning in whatever way you are able to support.  You must have at least three (3) resources to support your modification.  Please only use the resources that are listed under the “Research Database” tab because those have already been vetted.  You will identify the title of the research and then a short (2-3 sentences) summary describing why you used this source. 
 

The following is a sample format for you to follow.  Please change the content to reflect your own modification and research.

Name

Date

CJL2062 Constitutional Modification Project

Modified Amendment:

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed.

Thesis:

The founding fathers did not intend to limit the peoples’ right to carry arms to only times of military service; therefore, the prefatory clause of the Second Amendment should be deleted, which would prevent the states from limiting an individual’s right to firearms.  The right of the people to keep and bear arms should be an individual right and not infringed by state regulation or position within a militia.

Research:

#1

            Short paragraph summarizing or evaluating the source.

#2

            Short paragraph summarizing or evaluating the source.

#3

            Short paragraph summarizing or evaluating the source.

Helpful eBooks

There are two eBooks that might be helpful while you are deciding on how you will modify an amendment.  Both have background on the formation and history of the rights we are discussing, which may help you to focus your interest or ideas.  To access these books, please click on the link.  You should be directed to log in through Okta (if you are not already signed in). Then click the ePub Full Text link on the left side of the item record page to open the eBook. You can then browse the Table of Contents to find the chapter discussing the amendment you are interested in. 

Screenshot of item record of where to click the word ePub

 

Federal and State Constitutions and Amendments

The following links will take you to the Bill of Rights in the U.S. Constitution and the Florida Declaration of Rights.  You are familiar with the Bill of Rights from our time together in class.  Please focus your modification on the First, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, or Eighth Amendments.  Depending on the modification you choose, you may find it helpful to compare the right as outlined in the Florida Declaration of Rights.  For example, in our First Amendment, the government is limited from infringing on the “right of the people peaceably to assemble”.  In the Florida Constitution Art. I Sec. 5, the right is described as “the right peaceably to assemble, to instruct their representatives, and to petition for redress of grievances”.  You can see how the latter is more detailed than the former.

Research Databases

The links below are the three databases that you can use to help you research your modification.  Please contain your search to these databases.  If you are unable to find information to support your modification, you will need to change your project.

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal. 

MyPioneerPortal Login