Skip to main content

ENC1102 Hoey Main: Home

ENC 1102

Welcome!

This LibGuide will help you find articles and other sources for your research paper on Ralph Ellison's Battle Royal.

Suggested Databases for Literary Criticism

IRSC Libraries provide access to a variety of scholarly databases that focus on literature and the humanities. Once you log into the IRSC databases (see instructions to your left), browse Databases by Subject, then click on the Literature tab for a list of relevant databases. Below are several that will serve as starting points for your research. 

Remember to choose FULL TEXT, if available.

Search for Articles using Google Scholar

To add the FIND TEXT @ IRSC link to your search results, click the bars (also called a hamburger icon)Google Scholar Advanced Options in the top left then click Settings. Next, click on Library Links. Type in Indian River State College and click the magnifying glass and then place a checkmark in the box next to the results and click Save. 

Primary versus Secondary Sources

Primary sources:

provide direct or firsthand evidence of an event or person |  creative sources can be primary sources  historical documents |  legal documents statistics | interviews video recordings | audio recordings photographs correspondence including emails and letters

Secondary sources:

provide a summary, analysis, evaluation, or opinion about primary sources | journal articles |  literary criticism | books | films and documentaries

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)