LibGuides: English: Articles

Database Login for Students

To log in to the databases, you will use the same Rivermail e-mail address and password you set up to log into MyPioneerPortal. First-time users of MyPioneerPortal can create their password by following the instructions you receive in your activation email. To reset your password, select "Need help signing in." The librarians cannot reset MyPioneerPortal passwords, if you need additional assistance visit the tutorial on MyPioneerPortal.

How to Log in to Databases

How to find Literature Journals in JSTOR

Go to JSTOR,

Scroll down and check mark the box next to Language & Literature

Scroll up and check mark the box next to Article

Type keywords in the top boxes and click Search

A Lesson Before Dying: Starter

A Lesson Before Dying: Overview

Suggested Databases for Literary Criticism

Try these online databases to find literary criticisms, peer-reviewed articles, and other scholarly information about your author and novel.

Remember to choose FULL TEXT, if available.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Select full-text to limit to articles you can read right away.
EBSCO Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Limit your search to full-test when starting your search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
When searching for literary criticism, limit your search to Language and Literature under discipline and limit to Articles to remove book reviews from your results.
EBSCO Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
After you search, you can limit your results by clicking on a category on the left side of the screen. This is where you can limit your results to literary criticism, biographical information, or plot summaries.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Limit your results to full-text and select the appropriate search (name of work versus person). Too many results? Try limiting your search by adding an appropriate literary theme.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Place quotation marks around book titles to search for the primary source by phrase. i.e. "Pride and Prejudice" or "The Stranger"

Suggested Databases for Persuasion Paper

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is the Congressional Quarterly of the US Congress. This journal provides unbiased research on many of the bills and amendments put before Congress. Each topic provdes a timeline for you to track the milestones of a topic as it goes through the legislature.
Opposing Viewpoints Gale This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints provides more resources on a single topic than the two databases mentioned above. It's a good place to find a topic and also a good place if you are looking for additional information on a topic you can't find elsewhere. Check-out the tabs above a topic to find encylopedia/dictionary entries, statistics, websites, and multimedia resources.

Suggested Databases for Informative Paper

Depending on your topic, you can choose from a variety of databases. This is when the databases by subject listing comes in handy. If you're not sure where to look, try the ones under the "General" or "Reference" subject headings.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general database that will have information on a variety of topics. Remember to limit your search to full-text.
Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical information often helps you to understand an inventor, writer, political figure, religious icon, historian, or scientist better when learning about their contributions to society.