Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

ENC1101 Morrissey Gloria Mueller: Articles

A research guide for students in Professor Morrissey's English Composition 1 course.

Suggested Databases

The following databases are useful for finding a controversial topic and sources about topics commonly used for persuasive argumentative papers.

Limit your search to FULL TEXT when given the option.

How to Search Multiple EBSCO Databases

Access an EBSCO database (i.e. Academic Search Complete) and click "Choose Databases" at the top of the screen.  

Then, click the 'Select/deselect all" box. This will allow you to search all EBSCO databases simultaneously.

Search Tips

Truncation  Add an asterisk (*) to a root word to expand your search. For example, searching with the term femin* will result in articles containing the keywords feminist, feminism, feminine.

Limiting   Limit your results by searching for full text, peer reviewed, date, and other limiters

 

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)

 

 

 

How to Log in to Databases

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

Primary versus Secondary Sources

Primary sources:

provide direct or firsthand evidence of an event or person |  creative sources can be primary sources  historical documents |  legal documents statistics | interviews video recordings | audio recordings photographs correspondence including emails and letters

Secondary sources:

provide a summary, analysis, evaluation, or opinion about primary sources | journal articles |  literary criticism | books | films and documentaries