Skip to main content

POS1041 Cooper Daphne: Chicago/Turabian Style

Links to Chicago/Turabian Style Guides

Turabian Footnotes and Bibliography Basics

In-text with superscript

Anywhere inside your paper where you have included facts, ideas, paraphrasing, or quotes from a source, finish out the sentence then include a numerical superscript. Do this in Word by clicking on the References tab then clicking on Insert Footnote. This creates the superscript number and a place for your footnote at the bottom of the page.

Footnotes

For the first footnote pertaining to a source, use the formatting explained below. For subsequent footnotes for the same source, you can use a shortened format of just the author's last name followed by a comma then the page number.

General format for a book

1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

General format for a journal article from a database

1. Firstname Lastname et al. “Journal Article Title,” Journal Title #, no. # (Publication Year): Page Range, doi: 11.1111/111111-111-1111-1.

General format for a website

1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name of Website in Roman, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.

Bibliography

The bibliography is a full list of all of the sources you consulted/referenced in alphabetical order. Each entry should contain the full bibliographic information for the source. This will include the author (invert the first and last names), title, and publication information (publication date, journal title, and/or publisher name). 

Turabian Formatting Basics

General

Use Times New Roman 12 point font. Double space the body of your paper (but not the Bibliography). Use 1" margins on all sides. Include page numbers in the top right hand corner on each page.

Title Page

The title page will be double-spaced. Press Enter until you've reached a third of the way down the page then type out your paper title, centered. Press enter a few more times then include your name on its own line, the name of your class on the next line, and the date on the last line.

Bibliography

Start your Bibliography on its own page. Title it Bibliography centered at the top of the page without underlining, bolding, etc. Skip two lines then begin listing your sources in alphabetical order. Skip one line between entries.

IRSC Librarians Help with Citations

The IRSC Librarians are happy to help you with your citations. You can send your paper to us and we will review your citations and give you notes on how to correct any issues with your citations. You can email the librarians using the email irsc@tblc.libanswers.com, or visit any of the IRSC libraries and talk to a librarian to get one on one help with any of your research needs.

Chicago/Turabian Manuals at the Library