Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

ENC1101 Fasolino Chris Mueller: Articles

A LibGuide for Prof. Fasolino's ENC1101 class on the Mueller Campus.

Database Login for Students

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (PID for employees)

Your PIN is your 4-digit birth date (MMDD)

Student Database Login (Student ID is used as Borrower ID, PIN is MMDD of birthday)

 

 

 

Scholarly versus Popular

Scholarly articles are:

in-depth |  written by experts   validated with technical language, abstracts, literature reviews, methodologies, tables, graphs, and conclusions |  reviewed by experts | given a bibliography

Popular articles are:

brief overviews of topics |  written by journalists |  easily read by most people |  illustrated with colorful photographs or pictures reviewed by editors | not given a bibliography

Find Articles

Use the online databases to find literary criticisms, peer-reviewed articles, and other scholarly information about your author and novel. You can do this from any computer with internet access.

Remember to choose FULL TEXT, if available. Here are some suggested databases:

Primary versus Secondary Sources

Primary sources:

provide direct or firsthand evidence of an event or person |  creative sources can be primary sources  historical documents |  legal documents statistics | interviews video recordings | audio recordings photographs correspondence including emails and letters

Secondary sources:

provide a summary, analysis, evaluation, or opinion about primary sources | journal articles |  literary criticism | books | films and documentaries