LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: General OER Repositories

Institutional Repositories

Find some of the largest institutional repositories available, please know this is not a complete list of all available institutional repositories.

Digital Commons Network
The largest repository of scholarly works from higher education institutions. Over two million works from over 400 institutions.
eScholarship at the Univeristy of California
eScholarship provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
MIT Open Courseware
MIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses in literature and writing. Courses generally include lecture videos, assignments, exams, and more.
The New York Public Libraries' Digital Collections
Did you know that more than 180,000 of the items in the NYPL Digital Collections are in the public domain?That means everyone has the freedom to enjoy and reuse these materials in almost limitless ways. The Library now makes it possible to download such items in the highest resolution available directly from the Digital Collections website.

Florida Repositories

Many colleges and universities have their own digital collections. To find one, look at the college or university and search for digital collections. These often host the scholarly output of the institution. Since they are hosted through different software they do not have a unified search. They may focus on local or special collections as well as student and faculty research. The Digital Commons Network repository above is one of the largest software companies use by institutions and includes the largest unified search of such collections.

DigiNole
DigiNole, Florida State University's digital repository, provides online access to thousands of unique and historical materials, as well as the products of original research by the FSU community.
Florida Atlantic University Digital Collections
The FAU Digital Library mediates the depositis of faculty and student work into the repository, providing keywords and metadata to enhance findability. Works deposited include student research posters, abstracts, presentations, capstones, Honors Theses, Dance and Music performance recitals, faculty papers, preprint publications, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Florida Gulf Coast University Digital Repository
Includes student and faculty research as well as local historical collections including Sanibel history and the Minnie L. Gatewood Diaries.
Florida International University: Digital Collections Center
The Center's digital collections focus on local and regional materials of historical, scientific, cultural, and educational importance. FIU Libraries' digital preservation program adheres to international standards and best practices, documenting technical, administrative, preservation, and rights management metadata, along with the archival digital files, which are deposited in the Florida Digital Archive.
Florida Memory
Florida Memory is a digital outreach program providing free online access to select archival resources from collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida. Florida Memory digitizes materials that illuminate the state's history and culture. Interested in other local histories? Look for the state of interest plus "state library" or "memory" other states have these digital collections.
PALMM: Publication of Archival Library & Museum Materials
High quality digital repositories run by the universities in the state of Florida. Collections are important sources for Floridians.
University of Florida Digital Collections
The University of Florida Digital Collections (UFDC) hosts more than 300 outstanding digital collections, containing over 12 million pages, covering over 78 thousand subjects in rare books, manuscripts, antique maps, children's literature, newspapers, theses and dissertations, data sets, photographs, oral histories, and more for permanent access and preservation. Through UFDC, users have free and Open Access to full unique and rare materials held by the University of Florida and partner institutions.

Organizations with OER Repositories

Digital Public Library of America
Access thousands of primary sources (images, documents, films, etc.). Refine search by type, date, source, and subject.
American Memory-Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Khan Academy
The Khan Academy is a non-profit organization, whose mission is to provide a free-world class education for anyone anywhere.
OER Commons
In 2007, the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education launched OER Commons, its digital public library and collaboration platform, informed by the organization's pioneering efforts in knowledge management and educational innovation. OER Commons offers a comprehensive infrastructure for curriculum experts and instructors at all levels to identify high-quality OER and collaborate around their adaptation, evaluation, and use to address the needs of teachers and learners.

Repositories for Open Scholarly Journals

1finder
"From the get-go, 1findr has aimed to include all articles published in peer-reviewed journals, in all fields of research, in all languages and from every country. The free edition of 1findr takes on uncurated data sources such as Google Scholar."
Academia
Another social media site for researchers to share publications. Members can also add followers and follow those that interest them to get custom updates in a chosen discipline.
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The DOAJ reviewed all its journals in 2014 and awarded those that meet specific criteria in openness, level of peer-review, and transparency standards a DOAJ Seal. The green tick means the journal was accepted into the DOAJ after 2014 when they reviewed their standards for inclusion.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
PLOS (Public Library of Science)
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians striving to make scientific literature freely available to the public. All PLOS content is at the highest possible level of Open Access, meaning that scientific articles are immediately and freely available to anyone, anywhere, to be downloaded, printed, distributed, read, reused and remixed (including commercially) without restriction, as long as the author and the original source are properly attributed according to the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY).
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Research Gate
Social media site for researchers to share publications with others.
Social Science Research Network
SSRN's eLibrary provides 726,225 research papers from 335,176 researchers across 30 disciplines.

Open Educational Resources: General OER Repositories

United States Government Public Domain Repositories

Institutional Repositories

Florida Repositories

Organizations with OER Repositories

Repositories for Open Scholarly Journals