Skip to main content

IRSCLibraries

Medical Assisting: Books

Search for Books

Click to search the

IRSC Library Catalog

for physical materials found at the libraries.

When to Use the Online Catalog

The catalog is your main access point to locate physical materials found within the library, as well as eBooks and eAudiobooks. Print books, eBooks, print journals, DVDs, audiobooks, and government publications can all be found by conducting a keyword, author, title, or subject search in the catalog. You may also find Internet resources in the catalog. Click here to access IRSC's online library catalog

The catalog search will look for words in the title, abstract, major subject headings, and (sometimes) tables of content. When searching the catalog, it is important to remember that you are not searching the full text of these items. For this reason, you will get a much smaller, but more precise, return on a search than you would in a database or Internet search. If you have a very narrow search term, you will need to use broader terms to find materials on the subject. 

Find eBooks at IRSC

To get to the databases, start at www.irsc.edu

Click Libraries on the bottom left

Click Find eResources (Articles)

Click Databases by Subject

Login to the databases.

The database login screen looks like this.

Your Borrower ID is your student ID (for employees it is your PID).

Your PIN is your 4-digit birthdate (MMDD).

eBook Collection EBSCO

Streaming Audiobooks

Prefer to listen to a book rather than read it? Long commute? You can download Digital Audiobooks from the IRSC Libraries' databases. We have streaming audiobook titles in the Audiobooks (EBSCO) database and the OneClickDigital database. Find them in the database list under "Digital Audiobooks" or click the logo to sign in and start searching now.

EBSCO Audiobooks OneClickDigital
   

 

 

Request an Item

IRSC can borrow many different titles from other libraries. If you have a specific title you want, you can search for it using the IRSC full catalog by changing the At search to All 28 Colleges. If you find the title there, click on the college name at the bottom of the record and then click 'Request' to request the book from that college. If you are looking for a specific article or book not found in the catalog, use the Request an Item form below to borrow the material from another library.

Check Out Policy for Miley Library

Students

  • Books: 3 weeks (renew twice)
  • Reserve Books: 2 days (no renewal)
  • Check-out five books at a time

Community

  • Books: 3 weeks (renew twice)
  • Reserve Books: 2 days (no renewal)
  • Check-out three books at a time

Faculty

  • Books: Semester-long

Books at the Brackett Library, Mueller Campus

Books at the Brackett Library are organized in the Indian River County Library System using the Dewey Decimal system. You will need an Indian River County Library card to check out books.

  • 1st floor: Fiction, children and young adult books, DVD and CD collections
  • 2nd floor: Public computers, reference, non-fiction, and reserve books

The RESERVES collection, located on the second floor of the library, contains literary criticism.

Some criticisms may also be found in the NONFICTION section. These books can be checked out for two week periods.

Use the county's online catalog to find books in the Brackett Library.

(search results open in a new window)